Skip to main content
MNHS Library Custom Header

Winter Carnival: Images & Artifacts

Collections of Images

St. Paul Winter Carnival Photograph Collection, by St. Paul Winter Carnival Association 
Unpublished prints and negatives, 1937-1979.
Views of the St. Paul Winter Carnival featuring parades, ice palaces, sporting events and social activities. Many of the views document the Winter Carnival royalty from 1937-1979.
MNHS call number: Sound and Visual Collection Call # I.157

1986 Winter Carnival Ice Palace Construction, by Paul Malcolm.
Unpublished, 1986.
Includes 256 slides and a narrative that document the 1986 Winter Carnival Palace from beginning of construction on December 5, 1985 to its razing on February 20, 1986.
MNHS call number: Sound and Visual Collection Call #: I.144

St. Paul Winter Carnival, by Monroe P. Killy.
Unpublished, 1940-1947.
Primarily pictures of the 1947 Winter Carnival parade with some images of the ice castle from that year.
MNHS call number: Sound and Visual Collection Call #: II.7

Simmons Scrapbook
Unpublished, 1886-1890?
A large scrapbook that contains images from the 1886, 1887, and 1888 St. Paul Winter Carnival.
MNHS call number: Photograph Album Call # 200

Sample Images at MNHS

Ice Palace at Night, 1939 Vulcans, 1954  Owls Club Float, 1887    Ice Palace Construction, 1937    King Boreas, 1940.  Toboggan Club, 1886Ice Palace, 1937.  George Finch in Uniform, 1886  Ice Throne, 1948  Marchers, 1939    Winter Carnival Princess, 1938

Sample Artifacts at MNHS


Button, 1916 Cap, ca. 1940 Button, 1967. Queen of Snows crown, 1938. Nushka Club Coat, 1886Costume, 1916.Uniform, 1917.   Coin, 1983. Mukluks, 1887 - 1916.  

Searching

Search for images and artifacts at MNHS using our Collections Online system. Then, filter the results using the options in the system's left-hand column.   

You may want to try specific terms like:

You may also want to try more general terms related to the Winter Carnival, like:

See Sample Images and Sample Artifacts from Collections Online.  

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

Contact Us:


651-259-3300


Email Us

 
Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours