Skip to main content
MNHS Library Custom Header

Civilian Conservation Corps in Minnesota: CCC Information at MNHS

Books & Articles

Group of people posed inside a cabin, CCC Company 1723 photograph collection

Consult the following resources to get an overview of the CCC in Minnesota. These resources will also provide useful information on where to look next in your research: 

The Civilian Conservation Corps in Minnesota, by Barbara W. Sommer. 
Saint Paul, Minn.: Minnesota Historical Society Press, 2008.
A detailed overview of the CCC in Minnesota. Includes information on the history of the CCC, local administration, personal reminiscences, and more. Appendix I provides a thorough list of all CCC camps in Minnesota and references camp numbers, local camp papers, and dates of operation. 
MNHS call number: Reading Room S932 .M45 S66 2008

Minnesota History Magazine
Several articles on the Civilian Conservation Corps are available to read online or in the library's Reading Room.
Visit the index of the magazine and click on articles listed under the heading "Civilian Conservation Corps."
You may also search back issues to locate other articles. 

Stories in Log and Stone: The Legacy of the New Deal in Minnesota State Parks, by David R. Benson.
Saint Paul, Minn.: Department of Natural Resources, 2002. 
A look at CCC conservation work in Minnesota State Parks. Contains many images and gives information on daily CCC camp life as well. 
MNHS call number: SB482.M6 B46 2002

Archival Collections

CCC Training Notebook, 1939-1941.
Looseleaf notebook kept by a student (1939), instructor, and employee of Civilian Conservation Corps Company 4707 at Outing (Cass County), Minnesota.
MNHS call number: P2593

Lorenz R. Lindstrom Civilian Conservation Corps Camp Letters, 1935-1938
Letters written once or twice weekly during 1935-1938 by Lorenz Lindstrom (1909-1984) of Lakeland, Minn. to his girlfriend Shirley Anderson (1907-1987) in St. Paul while working as a foreman for the Civilian Conservation Corps in the Minnesota Arrowhead region. Letters cover many topics and provide a glimpse into camp life.
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid

My Days in the C.C.C's
A written account of daily life in CCC Camp 2709 (Plainview). Includes photographs of the camp taken by the author. 
MNHS call number: SD144 .M6 B87 1993

Papers Regarding Civilian Conservation Corps Camps in the Chippewa National Forest, 1933-1977 (Bulk 1933-1942)
Papers collected by a Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) camp historian pertaining to five CCC camps located in the Chippewa National Forest in Minnesota. The papers include photocopied narrative histories and reminiscences by former CCC members (undated and 1977), newspaper clippings (1933-1934, 1976-1977), a CCC woodsmanship manual (1941), and general background material on the CCC. Camps included are: Cut Foot Sioux (Company 707), Inger (Company 4709), Sand Lake (Company 4707), Squaw Lake (Company 1762), and Rabideau (Company 708).
MNHS call number: P2194

Pamphlets Related to the Civilian Conservation Corps in Minnesota
The Minnesota Historical Society Pamphlet Collection includes pamphlets and printed ephemera relating to the history and activities of the Civilian Conservation Corps in Minnesota and the United States, individual CCC camps in Minnesota, and subsequent reunions and commemorative events. Includes handbooks by Charles L. Pack; CCC camp Thanksgiving and Christmas menus; and a copy of "Shovels and guns," a labor-oriented attack on the CCC by James Lasswell.
MNHS call number: SD143

Leslie C. Anderson Papers, 1915-1999
Correspondence, photographs, and miscellaneous papers documenting the career and experiences of a Crosby, Crow Wing County man who served in the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) and the U.S. Army.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Oral Histories

Itasca State Park Oral History Project
Interviews of architects, directors, long and short time employees, Civilian Conservation Corps workers, visitors, and people who lived near Itasca State Park. Interviews are digitized and transcribed: to listen to an individual interview, click on the person's name under "Related Collections," then click on the blue audio button to listen online. 
MNHS call number: Digital Collection

Minnesota's Greatest Generation Oral History Project: Minnesota Native American Interviews
Interviews with Minnesota Indians who lived during World War II and are part of "Minnesota's Greatest Generation." Many interviews discuss service in the Civilian Conservation Corps Indian Division. Interviews are digitized and transcribed: to listen to an individual interview, click on the person's name under "Related collections," then click on the blue audio button to listen online. 
MNHS call number: Digital Collection

Newspapers

Civilian Conservation Corps Camp Papers
Large collection of local Minnesota CCC periodicals, organized by individual camp. For more information on the papers included in each camp's collection, consult The Civilian Conservation Corps Camp Newspapers: A Guide, located in the Hubbs microfilm room at: Z6951 .C465 1991. 
MNHS call number: Microfiche 1078, Microfilm 2015

Search MNHS Resources

Related Webpages

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

Contact Us:


651-259-3300


Email Us

 
Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours