MNHS Library Custom Header

Church Records

Photographs Online

The Library has numerous photographs of churches from throughout the state of Minnesota.  Many of these images are available online on the Collections Online database.

Photograph Collections

Father Robert E. Russell Photograph Collection, circa 1927-1941
Views of Father Russell, from his days as a seminary student to his work in various Catholic churches in Minnesota. Includes views of the town of Sleepy Eye and St. Mary's Church in Sleepy Eye, churches St. Michael, Assumption Church in St. Paul, Sauerkraut Days in Henderson, Diamond Jubilee in New Ulm, and the Ninth National Eucharistic Congress held at the Basilica of St. Mary, Minneapolis and the Minnesota state fairgrounds.
MNHS call number: I.112, See Digital Finding Aid

Rural Churches in Minnesota and Wisconsin Photograph Collection 1969-1973, Vera Sparkes photographer.
Color slides depicting interior and exterior views of approximately 100 rural churches of Lutheran, Episcopal, Catholic and Methodist congregations in rural Minnesota and Wisconsin, photographed between 1969 and 1973. Includes interior and exterior of buildings and grounds, church cemeteries, stained glass windows, religious murals and paintings, altars and general congregational areas. Also included are index cards containing brief histories to approximately 50 of the churches represented in the collection.
MNHS call number:  I.425, See Digital Finding Aid

Search MNHS Resources

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

Contact Us:


651-259-3300


Email Us

 
Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours