LibGuides: WPA: Works Progress Administration/Work Projects Administration: More

Collections Outside of MNHS

United States Work Projects Administration records, 1524-1975, Library of Congress
Correspondence, memoranda, speeches, essays, scripts, plays, life histories, folklore material, field reports, notes, transcripts of documents, inventories, lists, statements, instructions, surveys and appraisals, graphs, drawings, maps, indexes, and administrative records of the Federal Writer's Project and the Historical Records Survey of the U.S. Work Projects Administration. Also includes a research library of reports and publications documenting social welfare programs of the Depression era.

Records of the Work Projects Administration [WPA], National Archives

Crow Wing County History Interviews, 1936-1939, Minnesota Digital Reflections
The content of theses interviews conducted by the WPA, reflect the lives, experiences, and genealogy of people who lived in Crow Wing County.

Online Resources

Blogs on the New Deal and the WPA

New Deal of the Day
http://nddaily.blogspot.com/2013/03/ten-ways-wpa-helped-feed-america.html

On Point with Tom Ashbrook
http://onpoint.wbur.org/2009/05/15/food-files-from-the-wpa

Search Elsewhere

WorldCat
Searches the collections of thousands of libraries all over the world.
Electronic Library of MN
MN residents can search online magazine, journal, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles and eBooks.
Minnesota Reflections
A searchable collection of images, maps and digitized documents from more than 150 of Minnesota's cultural heritage organizations.
WPA Records at the U.S. National Archives
Official records of the WPA for the entire United States