LibGuides: Using the Minnesota Historical Society Library: Using the Library Online

Using the Library From Home

Several services from the MNHS Library are available online, including:

Library Catalog
Search the catalog for books, articles, maps, manuscript and state archive collections.
Collections Online
Digital database of photographs, artifacts, historical records, maps and atlases, oral histories, art, paintings, sound recordings.

Research Guides
Online guides about popular Minnesota history topics, types of MNHS records, and how-to guides.
People Records Search Tool
Search Birth, Death, State Census, and Veteran’s Grave Records
Digital Finding Aids
Inventories to MNHS manuscript and state archive collections.
Minnesota Digital Newspapers Hub
Digitized Minnesota newspapers.
Video Tutorials
Tutorials for popular services and materials offered by the library.

The MNHS Library also offers phone and email reference.

Our phone reference desk is staffed during all the library's open hours. You can contact us at
651-259-3300.

You can also contact us with a reference question via email.

The Minnesota Historical Society Library offers a variety of research services. A fee is charged for all research performed by staff.

Popular research services and orders include:

Birth Certificates
Death Certificates
Marriage Records
Obituaries
Naturalization Records
Court Case
Will Records
State Hospital Records - temporarily unavailable
Prison Records - temporarily unavailable
Military Records

Click here for a detailed list of all available research services, prices, and how to order.

For information on finding and ordering photographs or other images view our research guide:

Photographs: Research & Ordering

Online Library Links

Library Catalog
Search for books, pamphlets, maps, A/V materials, and archival and manuscript collections in our Library Catalog.
Finding Aids
Search the full text of digital finding aids for State Archives and manuscript collections at MNHS.
Collections Online
Search for 3/D objects, photographs, art, maps, and more from the MNHS Collections.
Search MNHS Box
Search MNHS websites, as well as Collections Online, Finding Aids and other resources. This search does not search in the library catalog.
Newspapers
Search historic newspapers for advertisements and articles about people, events, and activities.
Minnesota History Magazine
Use the index to find articles on a particular subject or use the search box to find any term that appears in online versions of articles.
Birth Certificates in Minnesota People Records Search
Search Minnesota birth records from the years 1900-1934, supplemented by about 2700 pre-1900 records.
Death Certificates in Minnesota People Records Search
Search Minnesota death certificates from 1908 to 2001, supplemented by death cards from 1904 to 1907.
State Census in Minnesota People Records Search
Search the index of Minnesota State and Territorial Census records from 1849, 1850, 1853, 1855, 1857, 1865, 1875, 1885, 1895 and 1905.
Veterans Grave Registrations in Minnesota People Records Search
Search the index to the Minnesota Veterans Graves Registration reports from 1857 to 1975, the bulk of which are from 1927-1969.
Minnesota Place Names
A geographical encyclopedia of Minnesota. (Currently unavailable)
Minnesota Photographers Directory
Biographical and historical information about Minnesota commercial photographers and photographic studios. Please note that this webpage was archived in June 2021.
Minnesota People Records Search
Search in birth and death records, State Census, Veterans Grave registrations, and Gold Star Rolls, as well as comments left by other users about these records.
Minnesota Maps Online
A collection of digitized maps at MNHS.