LibGuides: Hmong-Americans in Minnesota: More

Collections Outside of MNHS

Immigration History Research Center, University of Minnesota
The Immigration History Research Center promotes interdisciplinary research on international migration,develops archives documenting immigrant and refugee life, especially in the U.S., and makes specialized scholarship accessible to students, teachers, and the public.

Online Resources

Hmong Cultural Center
Primary Hmong and Asian American organization in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area that provides community outreach activities related to multicultural education for the purposes of promoting positive race relations in the Twin Cities community. Includes a Hmong Resource Center Library which is the site of the most comprehensive collection of Hmong-related literature, scholarly research, and multimedia materials in North America. Exhibits on Hmong History in Minnesota are being planned to be part of a future Hmong American History Center and Library.

Hmong Studies Journal
A peer-reviewed Internet-based academic publication devoted to the scholarly discussion of Hmong history, culture, people, and other facets of the Hmong experience in the U.S., Asia and around the world. Since 1996, Hmong Studies Journal has established itself as the most authoritative and widely cited scholarly journal devoted to academic studies related to the Hmong diaspora and Hmong culture and history.

2000 Hmong Census Publication

Hmong American Partnership
Hmong American Partnership (HAP) is the largest Hmong organization in Minnesota. Based in Saint Paul, HAP provides Hmong and other refugee communities with services and support to help them adjust to life in American and maximize available opportunities.

Council on Asian Pacific Minnesotans (CAPM)
State agency created by the MN State Legislature to fulfill three primary objectives:

Advise the governor and members of the legislature on issues pertaining to Asian Pacific Minnesotans;
Advocate on issues of importance to the Asian Pacific community; and
Act as a broker between the Asian Pacific community and mainstream society.

Search Elsewhere

WorldCat
Searches the collections of thousands of libraries all over the world.
Electronic Library of MN
MN residents can search online magazine, journal, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles and eBooks.
Minnesota Reflections
A searchable collection of images, maps and digitized documents from more than 150 of Minnesota's cultural heritage organizations.
MNCAT
Search the collections of the University of Minnesota Libraries.