MNHS Library Custom Header

Family Farm Research

Photograph Collections

Aerial view, Elevator and surrounding area, Harmony, 1975

Mart Aerial Photo Collection
Aerial photographs of rural and urban areas in Minnesota taken by Mart for his specialized advertising business, Zenith Pictorial Advertising, Inc. located in Spencer, Iowa. Mart flew his small plane over highways throughout the state (except for the northeast and Iron Range regions) and took photographs of towns, farms, grain elevators, schools, manufacturing plants, resorts, etc. He used the photographs on advertising specialties and commemorative items that he sold to businesses and individuals. Aerial photographs could be imprinted on calendars, pens, stationery, plates, pins, coffee mugs, playing cards, business cards, postcards and Christmas cards. The business also produced enlarged images, often hand tinted by his wife, Elizabeth.
MNHS call number: access via our photo database Collections Online

Ole Aarseth Photograph Collection, 1910-1917
Views of residences, buildings and people in Sioux Agency Township, Yellow Medicine County, Minn., an area settled by Norwegian Americans. Includes agricultural scenes, mainly threshing and grain harvesting.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Carl & Caroline Peters Family Photographs, 1885-1920
Views of Carl and Caroline, their children Clara, Hilda and Paul, and their home and farm in Jay Township, Martin County, Minn. Includes threshing scenes, woman feeding calves, family gatherings, including Peters family posed by the dinner table. 
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Searching for Images & Artifacts

Potato sack, 1980

Search for images and artifacts at MNHS using our Collections Online system.  Then filter the results using the options in the system's left-hand column.   

You may want to try specific terms like a indvidual's name, a family name, or the name of a specific building or location.

You may also want to try more general terms, like; 

Other photograph collections can be found in manuscript collections, government records collections, or cataloged separately as albums or collections. 

Search for Images & Artifacts at MNHS

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

Contact Us:


651-259-3300


Email Us

 
Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours