LibGuides: Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs): Primary Sources: Archives & Records

Manuscripts

Russell King Lewis Papers.
Files (1925-1966) related to Group Health, an early HMO, and other health cooperatives.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Northern Pacific Beneficial Association Corporate Records.
Organized in 1882, the Association provided medical, surgical, and hospital care for Northern Pacific Railway (NP) employees, centralized in the creation of seven hospitals: Brainerd, Minnesota; Missoula, Montana; Tacoma, Washington; Glendive, Montana; Pasco, Washington; Staples, Minnesota; and St. Paul, Minnesota. The collection includes minutes (1907-1934), cash books (1882-1949), statements of operations (1898-1899, 1950-1956), and miscellaneous materials documenting the series of hospitals organized by the NP.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Samuel Popper Papers
This archival collection (1960-1990) contains correspondence, memoranda, committee agendas and minutes, financial data, reports, and printed matter related to Popper's (a University of Minnesota professor) 18-year tenure (1962-1980) on the board of directors of one of the largest health maintenance organizations in the Midwest. The collection primarily documents management issues dealt with by Group Health Plan's board of directors during the 1970s.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Government Records

Minnesota Department of Health

Health Maintenance Organizations Files (1971-1989).
These files document the Minnesota Health Department's activities in relation to health maintenance organizations (HMOs) operating in Minnesota, particularly its regulatory authority to review contractual relationships between an HMO and other parties, the quality of care being offered within an HMO, and the financial status of an HMO.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid
Health Policy and Systems Compliance Division Records (1980-1996).
This archival collection contains subject files on HMOs.
Restriction: Some of the records may include private data and can only be used with permission. Ask a librarian for help.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Minnesota Planning Agency, Health Systems Agencies Records (1972-1986).
Records documenting the health services, plans, and activities of Minnesota regional health systems agencies, including health systems plans, grant applications, annual implementation plans, special services plans, meeting files, and some financial records.
MNHS call number: See finding aid in the library (Planning Agency, Human Services Division, Health Planning Section).

Other Publications

Join a Prepaid, Comprehensive Health Pan from the Leader in Health Care, Group Health Inc.
Minneapolis, Minn. : The Organization, c1986.
MNHS call number: RA413.3.G72 J64 1986

Group Health, Inc. Pulse
Minneapolis, MN : The Organization, 1985-1993.
Vol. 10, no. 7 (Aug. 1985)-vol. 18, no. 1 (Feb. 1993). 9 v. on 1
MNHS call number: Microfilm 1288

Consumers Guide to Health Plan, Twin Cities Metropolitan Area
St. Paul, Minn. : Metropolitan Council : Metropolitan Health Planning Board, 1985
MNHS call number: RA413.5.U52 M54 1985

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

Primary vs. Secondary Sources
A short video describing the differences between primary and secondary sources with examples from MNHS collections.
Library Catalog
Search for books, pamphlets, maps, A/V materials, and archival and manuscript collections in our Library Catalog.
Finding Aids
Search the full text of digital finding aids for State Archives and manuscript collections at MNHS.
Collections Online
Search for 3/D objects, photographs, art, maps, and more from the MNHS Collections.
Newspapers
Search historic newspapers for advertisements and articles about people, events, and activities.
Search MNHS Box
Search MNHS websites, as well as Collections Online, Finding Aids and other resources. This search does not search in the library catalog.