Skip to Main Content
Gale Family Library home

Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: Primary Sources: Archives & Records

Manuscripts

Minnesota News Council: Minnesota News Council Records, 1970-1992.
Mediation case files (1971-1990) and various administrative records (1970-1992) documenting the activities of a council established in 1970 by the Minnesota Newspaper Association to mediate disputes between the media and the public. The council consists of twelve media representatives and twelve individual citizens. News reports specific to the opposition to the Minneapolis Metrodome are found in Files 199-200.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

 
Minnesota Super Bowl XXVI Task Force: Super Bowl Task Force Records, 1991-1992.
Committee reports, agendas and related materials, press kits, news releases, printed materials, newspaper clipping files, and some correspondence detailing the activities of a task force organized to promote Super Bowl XXVI, which was held in the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome, Minneapolis, on January 26, 1992, and to plan related social and public relations activities and events.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid
 
Hot Line: The Official Newsletter of The Great Minnesota Warm-Up.
Minneapolis, MN : Minnesota Super Bowl XXVI, Inc., 1991-
A collection of six official newsletters of The Minnesota Super Bowl XXII Task Force. The newsletters include statistics and general information on the Metrodome, color photographs and illustrations of the Metrodome, and an overview of special events held in conjunction with the Super Bowl.
MNHS call number: SERIAL 1241
 
Sasaki Associates: Twin Cities Metropolitan Sports Facilities: Draft Environmental Impact Statements: Bloomington and Minneapolis/ Minnesota State Planning Agency
A report summarizing the Bloomington and Minneapolis Draft Environmental Impact Statements (EIS's) for new or remodeled metropolitan sports facilities in the Twin Cities region of Minnesota. This Summary Report, as a decision-making guide, provides a comparative overview of significant impacts associated with each of the proposed site and design alternatives. Includes the project background, the proposed action and alternatives, a summary of impacts derived from multidisciplinary analyzes of the alternatives, and information responding to a series of critical questions concerning the stadium-related choices and tradeoff issues.
MNHS call number: GV431.T9 M635 1977b

Government Records

Minnesota. Governor (1979-1983 : Quie).: Steve Ahlgren Files, 1979-1981.
The files of Steve Ahlgren relate primarily to the proposed construction of a domed stadium in Minneapolis. They include materials on legislation, hearings, possible sites, and financing, primarily constituent correspondence. There are several folders of letters expressing interest in renovation of Memorial Stadium at the University of Minnesota for use as a domed stadium. Also included are minutes of the Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (Governor: Quie, Albert).
 
Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities Area.: Metrodome Study Records, 1973-1982.
Memos, meeting notices and minutes, reports, public hearing records, and related materials documenting the council’s Special Committee on Sports and Cultural Facilities (1973-1974), whose purpose was to hold hearings and prepare a report on the development of major sports and cultural facilities, including a domed stadium. Also reports, memos, correspondence, and related materials covering the council’s relationship with the Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission (1977-1982).
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (Metropolitan Council).
 
Minneapolis (Minn.).: A Multi-Use Sports Arena in Minneapolis, prepared by the City of Minneapolis in cooperation with the Greater Minneapolis Chamber of Commerce and the Minneapolis Downtown Council.
A bound series of reports and studies on the development of the Metrodome. Includes a summary of the proposal, construction cost, social and economic impact, and a copy of the proposed stadium bill.
Minneapolis, Minn. : The City ; 1977.
MNHS call number: GV431.M5 M52

Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission Records

Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission (Minn.).: Friday Notes, 1989-1994.
Staff newsletter published every Friday. Each issue includes photocopies of sports related newspaper clippings, and correspondence and memoranda concerning the commission’s activities and sports in Minnesota. Includes many references to sports and other special events held at the Metrodome. Consists of issues for January 1989 - April 1990 and January 1992 - December 1994.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (State Archives) (Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission).
 
Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission (Minn.).: Meeting Files, 1977-1994.
Agendas, minutes, reports, correspondence, resolutions, policy statements, and related papers documenting the organization and activities of the commission, including meeting files for some public hearings and the original commissioners’ briefing session (May 1977). The minutes document all aspects of the development, construction, and operation of the Metrodome; oversight of the Metropolitan Stadium/Sports Center site; and legislation affecting the commission and its activities.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (State Archives) (Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission).
 
Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission (Minn.).: Agreements, 1955-1993.
Mainly playing agreements between the commission and the professional sports teams that played at the Metropolitan Stadium/Sports Center (pre-April 1982) and the Metrodome (post-April 1982), particularly the Twins, Vikings, North Stars, Kicks, and Strikers. A variety of other agreements cover such topics as labor, land sale, parking, spectator boxes, transit, and no-strike.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (State Archives) (Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission).
 
Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission (Minn.) Creator.: Published Records and Reports, 1954, 1974-1992.
Published proposals, recommendations, evaluations, marketing studies, and reports, both prepared by and submitted to the commission, covering such topics as stadium location, legislation, environmental impact, economic impact, finances, and marketing.
Includes the 1987 and 1988 annual reports and a 1992 videocassette of Twin Cities television coverage of the conversion of the Metrodome for the NCAA Final Four Tournament (college basketball) and the impact of the tournament on the Twin Cities.
MNHS call number:  Digital Finding Aid  
 
Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission (Minn.).: Metropolitan Council Proposals, 1978-1984.
Contains documents the commission was required to submit to the Metropolitan Council [Minn. Stat. 473.581 subd 3b] for review and approval to allow the issuance of bonds and the construction of a new sports facility in the metropolitan area. The files include construction contracts, environmental impact statements, land acquisition documents, league franchise guarantees, no-strike agreements, bond proposals, and team leases. There are also materials relating to the University of Minnesota, taxes, private boxes, and a television blackout agreement.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (State Archives) (Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission).
 
Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission (Minn.).: Annual Report / Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission.
Minneapolis, MN : The Commission.
This annual report from 1985 includes color photographs of the interior and exterior of the Metrodome, Metrodome statistics for 1985, and examples of the variety of events held in the Metrodome in 1985.
MNHS call number: SERIAL 1886

Souvenir Books & Other Publications

Minnesota Vikings Gameday.
Monticello, Minn. : GameDay Sports.
Issue for Dec. 29, 2013 commemorates the final game at the Metrodome. "The commemorative cover features the original GameDay magazine cover that was printed for the Vikings first regular season game at the Metrodome."
MNHS call number: GV956.M65 G35
 
The Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome Souvenir Book: A Pictorial History of the Twins, Vikings, Gophers, Millers, Saints--and Metrodome!, compiled by Dave Mona ; [by Calvin Griffith ... et al.].
Minneapolis, Minn. : MSP Publications, c1982.
An oversized book featuring Metrodome facts and figures, a brief history, many photos (including color), seating charts, and statistics and photos of the Minnesota Twins and Minnesota Vikings.
MNHS call number: GV416.M5 H83
 
On Behalf of the State of Minnesota and the Loyal Football Fans of the Upper Midwest Governor and Mrs. Rudy Perpich Warmly Invite the National Football League to Super Bowl XXII: Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome, Sunday, January 31, 1988.
Minnesota : s.n., 1985.
An oversized book featuring the highlights of the Twin Cities, as a proposal to the NFL to hold Super Bowl XXII at the Metrodome. Includes color photographs of the interior and exterior of the Metrodome and Minnesota Vikings players.
MNHS call number: FOLIO F613.T15 O6 1985
 
Fire & Ice: Minnesota Super Bowl XXVI: A Proposal to the National Football League, May 24, 1989.
A bound booklet highlighting the Metrodome and the Twin Cities, as a proposal to the NFL to hold Super Bowl XXVI at the Metrodome. Includes color photographs of the interior and exterior of the Metrodome and Minnesota Vikings players.
Minneapolis: Minnesota Super Bowl Task Force, 1989.
MNHS call number: FOLIO 613.T15 F47 1989

Programs

1987 World Series: Official Program.
New York, N.Y. : Major League Baseball Promotion Corp., c1987.
MNHS call number: GV863.A1 A18 1987
 
All-Star Baseball Game (56th : 1985 : Minneapolis, Minn.).: Official Program, 1985 All-Star Game.
New York, N.Y. : Major League Baseball Promotion Corp., 1985.
MNHS call number: GV875.A1 A44 1985

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

 

Gale Family Library
Minnesota Historical Society Library

Located on the Second Floor of the Minnesota History Center
345 West Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55102

Library Hours:
Thursday to Saturday: 10am to 4pm
Sunday to Wednesday: Closed
 

More Information on Visiting the Library

 

Contact Us:

651-259-3300

Email Us

Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Hours and More Information • Email us