Skip to main content
MNHS Library Custom Header

Mille Lacs Trading Post: Images & Artifacts

Search for Images & Artifacts at MNHS

Searching

Search for images and artifacts at MNHS using our Collections Online system.  Then filter the results using the options in the system's left-hand column.   

You may want to try specific terms like:

 

You may also want to try more general terms related to the Mille Lacs Trading Post, like:

Photograph Collections

Some image collections are not available through Collections Online but are available to view in person at the library.

Harry Ayer Collection of Stereo Slides, ca. 1952-1963
Views of Ojibway Indians at Mille Lacs Trading Post and scenic views near the trading post, and views of a Dakota dance at Pine Ridge, S.D.
MNHS Call Number: Sound and Visual Collection I.150

Indian Trading Post at Mille Lacs, Mille Lacs County, Minnesota, ca.1959
Views of the interior of the trading post showing exhibits and displays of Indian artifacts.
MNHS Call Number: Sound and Visual Collection I.256

Dedication of Mille Lacs Indian Museum, ca. 1960
25 snapshots, mainly views of guests at the dedication, including Harry and Jeanette Ayers and Minnesota Historical Society staff members. 
MNHS Call Number: Sound and Visual Collection I.253

Pow Wow at Lake Mille Lacs, ca.1988
Views of a pow wow at the Mille Lacs trading post on the Mille Lacs Indian Reservation, Minnesota, August 1988.
MNHS Call Number: Sound and Visual Collection I.5

Sample Images at MNHS

 

 Chippewa Indian tepee, Mille Lacs Trading Post, c. 1932Mille Lacs Trading Post, c. 1920Building canoe for Mille Lacs Trading Post, 1940Truck driver and children posed by truck full of tires, Mille Lacs Trading Post Ojibway man seated by tipi at Mille Lacs Trading Post, c. 1935Indian Trading Post, Mille Lacs, c. 1950Indian crafts at Mille Lacs Trading Post, c. 1935Chief Me-gee-see wearing rabbit robe, Mille Lacs Trading Post, c. 1925

Sample Artifacts at MNHS

Mille Lacs Lake Indian Trading Post felt pennant Ojibwe birchbark owl wall hanging Ojibwe miniature birchbark sap bucketOjibwe beaded satin armbandsNative American carved figurine Ojibwe snowshoesBeaded birchbark container Ojibwe bandolier bag

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

Contact Us:


651-259-3300


Email Us

 
Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours