Skip to main content
MNHS Library Custom Header

WWI: Minnesota in the Great War: Images & Artifacts

A description of major resources on World War I and related topics.

Searching for Images & Artifacts

Many of our images and artifacts are available to search in our Collections Online system.  For example, view World War I artifacts and posters in the collection. For other searches enter enter the search term you wish to try, then filter the results using the options in the system's left-hand column.   

Treat 'em Rough! Join the tanks poster, c. 1914-1918

You may want to try specific terms like:

 

You may also want to try more general terms related to World War I, such as:

 

Photograph Collections

Guybert Marion Phillips WWI Photograph Album
Views of Paris, Reims, and the French countryside taken by Minnesotan Guybert Marion Phillips while serving in the French ambulance unit S.S.U. 568 during World War I. Album includes images taken in Scotland and London in April of 1919 following the end of the war.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid 

Minnesota War Records Commission, Collected Materials, 1909-1936
Photographs are interspersed throughout this collection. Some are included in the various letter collections and include shots of life on the front. Other shots are organized to capture the work of various divisions abroad.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

World War I Soldiers’ Photographs, 1918-1939, 1947
Collection of photographs of WWI soldiers and nurses. Most individuals are from Minnesota, but soldiers from Nebraska, Wisconsin (specifically, Superior), North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa and Missouri are also included. Photographs are from the collections of the Ramsey County War Records Commission, the War Records Commission, the Minnesota American Legion Auxiliary, and the Minnesota Motor Corps. Digitized images are available with in the finding aid, linked below.
MNHS call numberDigital Finding Aid

Sample Images & Artifacts at MNHS

Children holding anti-German signs, c. 1914-1918Poster: Now, Venereal DiseasesPhotograph: ReeserChinese nurses during World War I.Minnesota Commission of Public Safety, c 1918American Red Cross thimbles, c 1917-1918Great War Souvenir ScarfRegiment from Aitkin County, c. 1917Poster: Service, Fall In! National League for Woman's Service c 1914-1918

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

Contact Us:


651-259-3300


Email Us

 
Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours