Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vietnam War & Minnesota: More

Online Resources

Minnesota Reflections
A database of digitized original materials shared by cultural heritage organizations located across Minnesota. These materials include images, text, audio, film, and more, with new items added on a regular basis. The resources found on this site support research for scholars, educators, students, and the public. 

Minnesota Remembers Vietnam, Twin Cities Public Television
An initiative aimed at inspiring Minnesotans to remember and share stories, recognize bravery, express reasons for dissent, and foster understanding around the lasting impact of war.

Collections Outside of MNHS

Veteran's Service Records, National Archives
Military personnel records can include DD 214s/Separation Documents, service personnel records found within the Official Military Personnel File (OMPF), and medical records. Military personnel records can be used for proving military service or as a valuable tool in genealogical research.

Vietnam War Oral History Interviews, Anoka County Historical Society
Many interviews are with veterans of the war, but some were conducted with family or spouses of military personnel, and a few with residents of the county who were connected to the war in other ways. A single interview will often cover several topics, and many do not focus solely on the Vietnam War. 

Vietnam collections, University of Minnesota Archives

Eugene J. McCarthy Papers, University of Minnesota Libraries--Elmer L. Andersen Library (Special Collections, Rare Books, and Manuscripts)
The McCarthy Historical Project Archive--originally held by Georgetown University--and related collections document the 1968 democratic primary campaign, as well as other aspects of Senator Eugene J. McCarthy's political career.

Search Elsewhere

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Currently open by appointment only.