LibGuides: Wanda Gág: Illustrator & Author: Overview

Best Bets

"Gág, Wanda: The Bite of the Picture Book," by Richard W. Cox.
In Minnesota History, vol. 44, no. 7 (Fall 1975): pp. 239-254.
MNHS call number: Digital Copy

Wanda Gág: Storybook Artist, by Gwenyth Swain.

St. Paul, MN : Borealis Books, 2005.

MNHS call number: Reading Room NC975.5.G34 S93 2005, also available for purchase.

Growing Pains: Diaries and Drawings for the Years 1908-1917, by Wanda Gág.

A collection of diary entries written by Wanda Gág during 1908-1917. The entries describe Gág's experiences growing up in Minnesota in the early twentieth century, as well as a glimpse into the childhood thoughts of a famous artist.

St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society Press, 1984 (reprint).
MNHS call number: Reading Room NC139.G2 A3 1984, also available for purchase.

Hertha Aufderheide Collection, 1908-1937
Contains greeting cards and postcards sent to Hertha Aufderheide from Minnesota artist/author, Wanda Gág. The greeting cards include two original Gág watercolor and ink drawings and eight containing Gág lithograph illustrations (undated and 1935-1937). There are also four postcards containing original watercolor and ink drawings (undated and 1908, 1913), and two wood engravings (undated and 1928). Some of the cards contain handwritten messages.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Wanda Gág Photograph Collection

This collection includes views of Gág's birthplace in New Ulm, Minnesota, on Third Street North and her home at 226 North Washington Street and views of Wanda Gág and her family and friends, including: Stella Gág, Dehli Gáág, Nelda Gág, and Adolf Dehn.
MNHS call number: I.271 (in the A-V Collection).

Overview

Wanda Gág, author, artist, and illustrator, was born in New Ulm, Minnesota, in 1893. After her father's death she took writing and illustrating jobs to help support her family. She sold many illustrations to the Minneapolis Journal and received art awards and an art scholarship to the Art Students League in New York City. Gág is best known for her children's book Millions of Cats.

Research Options

Visit the MNHS Library
Original materials, records, and newspapers on microfilm are available on site and reference staff can help with research.
MNHS Research Services
Order copies of records, articles, or other specific materials from the MNHS collections.
Interlibrary Loan
MNHS loans out most microfilm materials. Contact your local library for more information and assistance with this service.
Online Research
Some items such as newspapers, articles, photos and objects are available online. Look for links within this guide.
Other Libraries
Many books listed in the Secondary Sources page can be borrowed from other libraries.