Skip to main content
MNHS Library Custom Header

Directories: Suburan & Rural

Suburban & Rural Directories

Suburban
A post WWII population boom along with economic growth spurred the growth of the suburbs. The cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul experienced this growth as well.

Suburban directories began being published in Minnesota in the late 1940's and early 1950's, particularly for the suburbs surrounding the cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul.  Some directories include several suburban areas. For example, the St.Paul North Suburban City Directory Collections covers the suburban areas of Roseville,  Falcon Heights, White Bear Lake, etc..  

These directories include much the same information as a city directory, are alphabetical by surname, address and include occupation or employer and classified business listings.

Rural
Most rural areas did not have a directory published as did the more populated city areas. However, many county atlases and plat books include as part of their publications a directory of each township.  These include a plat of each township along with a listing of the farmers in the area and may also list spouses and children. 

How to find suburban & rural directories

To locate a suburban directory in the Library's collections:

  • Search the library catalog.
     
  • Enter the city [Minneapolis or St. Paul] suburban directories in the keyword search in the catalog (i.e. St. Paul suburban directories).  You may also search with the name of the suburb such as "Edina directories".


To locate a rural directory in the Library's collections:

  • Search the library catalog
     
  • Use the keyword search option.  Enter [county name] directories (i.e. Wright county directories).

Search MNHS Resources

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours