LibGuides: Wanda Gág: Illustrator & Author: Primary Sources: Archives & Records

Primary Sources

Manuscripts
Books & Other Publications

Hertha Aufderheide Collection, 1908-1937
Contains greeting cards and postcards sent to Hertha Aufderheide from Minnesota artist/author, Wanda Gág. The greeting cards include two original Gág watercolor and ink drawings and eight containing Gág lithograph illustrations (undated and 1935-1937). There are also four postcards containing original watercolor and ink drawings (undated and 1908, 1913), and two wood engravings (undated and 1928). Some of the cards contain handwritten messages.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Adolf Dehn Papers, 1914-1968

Contains correspondence, exhibition announcements and catalogs, newspaper clippings, printed material, and photographs relating to Adolf Dehn, a lithographer and painter, and his family. Included in the collection are letters from Wanda Gág.

MNHS call number: M531 (Microfilm)

Wanda Gág Photograph Collection

This collection includes views of Gág's birthplace in New Ulm, Minnesota, on Third Street North and her home at 226 North Washington Street and views of Wanda Gág and her family and friends, including: Stella Gág, Dehli Gáág, Nelda Gág, and Adolf Dehn.
MNHS call number: I.271 (in the A-V Collection).

Arthur J. Russell Papers
Russell was a Minneapolis journalist. His collection includes a photocopied letter (September 20, 1943) from illustrator and writer Wanda Gág offering advice on getting his children's story published.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid the library (P1490).

A Message from Wanda Gág: A Biographical Letter to her Fans, circa 1940, by Wanda Gág.

A bound reprint of the letter Gág sent as a reply to her fan mail. It is a brief autobiography with illustrations and includes a bibliography (as of 1940).

Pasadena, Calif. : Vance Gerry, Weather Bird Press, 1999.
MNHS call number: NC975.5.G34 A3 1999

Growing Pains: Diaries and Drawings for the Years 1908-1917, by Wanda Gág.

A collection of diary entries written by Wanda Gág during 1908-1917. The entries describe Gág's experiences growing up in Minnesota in the early twentieth century, as well as a glimpse into the childhood thoughts of a famous artist.

St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society Press, 1984 (reprint).
MNHS call number: Reading Room NC139.G2 A3 1984, also available for purchase.

Millions of Cats, by Wanda Gág.

New York : Coward-McCann, 1928.
MNHS call number: PS3513.A527 M45

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

Primary vs. Secondary Sources
A short video describing the differences between primary and secondary sources with examples from MNHS collections.
Library Catalog
Search for books, pamphlets, maps, A/V materials, and archival and manuscript collections in our Library Catalog.
Finding Aids
Search the full text of digital finding aids for State Archives and manuscript collections at MNHS.
Collections Online
Search for 3/D objects, photographs, art, maps, and more from the MNHS Collections.
Newspapers
Search historic newspapers for advertisements and articles about people, events, and activities.
Search MNHS Box
Search MNHS websites, as well as Collections Online, Finding Aids and other resources. This search does not search in the library catalog.