LibGuides: Adoption Research: More

Collections Outside of MNHS

University of Minnesota Social History Welfare Archives
The Social History Welfare Archives contain much information about adoption in Minnesota including:

Children's Home Society of Minnesota records
Minutes, planning documents, publications, and organizational histories of the Children’s Home Society of Minnesota, founded in 1889. Board retreats, long-range planning, licensing, annual meetings, fund-raising and property acquisitions are also documented. Also includes the quarterly publication, The Minnesota Children's Home Finder, dating from 1899-1971.

Minnesota Council on Adoptions records

Collection contains material relating to adoption.

International Soundex Reunion Registry

The International Soundex Reunion Registry is a non-profit, tax exempt, charitable organization founded in 1975. ISRR is a mutual consent reunion registry for persons desiring a reunion with next-of-kin. This agency serves family members who have been separated from each other by adoption, divorce, foster care, institutional care, abandonment, crisis, etc.

Search Elsewhere

WorldCat
Searches the collections of thousands of libraries all over the world.
Family Search
A free family history site that allows you to search records from around the world.
Electronic Library of MN
MN residents can search online magazine, journal, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles and eBooks.
Minnesota Digital Library
A searchable collection of images, maps, and digitized documents from more than 150 of Minnesota's cultural heritage organizations.
MNCAT
Search the collections of the University of Minnesota Libraries.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
A gateway for searching over 9 million items from the Library of Congress's collection of American History materials.
U.S. National Archives
Iron Range Research Center Index
Search this index of statewide naturalizations and alien registrations. It also covers other records specific to Northeastern MN.
MOMS Marriage Index
This index to Minnesota marriages is incomplete for some counties, but complete for others.