LibGuides: Research Guide for Native Community Members: Cultures & Societies

Researching Native Culture & Society

The robust collections of MNHS contain resources relating to many aspects of many cultures and societies and this is no different for Indigenous nations. Materials you may find could be related to language, clothing, lifeways and more. Many of these cultural practices are documented in various ways and by various people.

Examples of materials relating to culture & society:

Honoring the Maple Sugar. Filmed at a school on the Fond du Lac Reservation, this video shows the traditional process of making maple sugar. MNHS call number: Videotape 797

Iapi Oaye/Word Carrier Newspaper. Iapi Oaye, a Dakota-language missionary newspaper, was published monthly, first in Greenwood, Dakota Territory and later in Santee, Nebraska, between May 1871 and March 1939, when it ceased publication. To learn more about digitized newspapers visit the Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub.

Oral History interview with Batiste Sam. Oral history interview with Mille Lacs elder, Batiste Sam. Subjects discussed include beadwork patterns, tanning and leathers, as well as fabric samples. Video includes shots of items and rooms at the Mille Lacs Indian Museum and Trading Post. MNHS call number: OH 168. Access to digital audio interviews and transcripts are available in Collections Online.

Tepees in the Pines: An Intimate Story of the Minnesota Chippewas, 1938 by Dorothy Munnell. The narrative is an informal history of the Ojibwe ("Chippewa" used in text), but includes many detailed descriptions of daily life and customs. Munnell was the wife of Jacob J. Munnell, agent at the Leech Lake Indian Reservation. MNHS call number: Manuscripts P1695

Suggested keywords to search in our library and archives catalog and Collections Online database for additional materials related to Native culture and society:

Ojibwe Indian(s)
Ojibwe Beadwork
Beaded
Beaded Moccasins
Dakota Beaded, Ojibwe Beaded
Quillwork
Ojibwe Culture
Dakota Culture
Parfleche, Dakota feathers
Ojibwe feathers
Beaded bag, etc.

Online Library Links

Library Catalog
Search for books, pamphlets, maps, A/V materials, and archival and manuscript collections in our Library Catalog.
Finding Aids
Search the full text of digital finding aids for State Archives and manuscript collections at MNHS.
Collections Online
Search for 3/D objects, photographs, art, maps, and more from the MNHS Collections.
Newspapers
Search historic newspapers for advertisements and articles about people, events, and activities.
Search MNHS Box
Search MNHS websites, as well as Collections Online, Finding Aids and other resources. This search does not search in the library catalog.
Minnesota History Magazine
Use the index to find articles on a particular subject or use the search box to find any term that appears in online versions of articles.
Minnesota Place Names
A geographical encyclopedia of Minnesota. (Currently unavailable)
Minnesota Photographers Directory
Biographical and historical information about Minnesota commercial photographers and photographic studios.
Fire Insurance Maps Online
A subscription service to find and view high-definition, color fire insurance maps, real estate atlases, plat books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information. Visit the MNHS Library to use our subscription.
Ancestry.com
A genealogy website with records from all over the world. Access requires a subscription. Visit the MNHS Library to use our subscription.
MNopedia
An online encyclopedia with reliable information about significant people, places, events and things in Minnesota history.
Death Certificates in Minnesota People Records Search
Search Minnesota death certificates from 1908 to 2001, supplemented by death cards from 1904 to 1907.
Birth Certificates in Minnesota People Records Search
Search Minnesota birth records from the years 1900-1934, supplemented by about 2700 pre-1900 records.
State Census in Minnesota People Records Search
Search the index of Minnesota State and Territorial Census records from 1849, 1850, 1853, 1855, 1857, 1865, 1875, 1885, 1895 and 1905.

MNHS Reference Staff

Gale Family Library
Minnesota Historical Society Library

Located on the Second Floor of the Minnesota History Center
345 West Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55102

Library Hours:
Thursday to Saturday: 10am to 4pm
Sunday to Wednesday: Closed

More Information on Visiting the Library

Contact Us:

651-259-3300

Email Us

Visit our Main Website