Vince A. Day Papers.
This collection (1906-1945) includes correspondence, speeches, clippings, printed materials, scrapbooks, and other papers of Day, who was private secretary to Minnesota governor Floyd B. Olson (1931-1935). Day's papers as Governor Olson's secretary provide data on many aspects of state and national politics; third party movements; labor problems and strikes; political patronage; the farm depression (1931); the bank holiday (1933); the American Commonwealth Political Federation; the Communist party; and the labor newspaper Austin American, and the activities and murder of Walter Liggett, its first editor.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (A/.D275).
Farmer-Labor Association of Minnesota.
This archival collection consists of proceedings of conventions, minutes of meetings, speeches, and correspondence of this political association. There is information on patronage, tax reform, collective bargaining, strikes, the labor movement, political conventions and campaigns, and Minnesota political figures, including Victor E. Lawson, Ernest Lundeen, William Mahoney, Floyd B. Olson, and Harold Stassen.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P337).
Hubert H. Humphrey, Mayor's Political Files (1935-1951).
Correspondence, platform and policy documents, campaign and other promotional literature, statements, clippings, publicity items, and assorted background materials and issuances pertaining to Humphrey's 1944 and 1947 campaigns for mayor of Minneapolis; to activities of the Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party, the Democratic National Committee, and the Americans for Democratic Action during the period of his mayoralty; and to Humphrey's political contemporaries.
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid
William Mahoney Papers.
This archival collection contains correspondence, minutes, reports, speeches, pamphlets, clippings, and campaign literature relating to Mahoney's political activities as a member of the Farmer-Labor Association and Farmer-Labor party in the 1920s and 1930s.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P1246).
National Nonpartisan League Papers.
This archival collection (1915-1927) contains data concerning the creation of the Farmer-Labor Party of Minnesota.
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid
Floyd B. Olson Papers.
This collection (1923-1974) includes correspondence, press releases, speeches, clippings, campaign literature, and miscellany, chiefly for the period (1930-1936) when Olson was governor of Minnesota. They provide information on the Farmer-Labor party, conservation of natural resources, agriculture, education, taxation, cooperatives, labor unions, municipal ownership, state government, the Farmer-Labor Association and its educational bureau including a copy of its charter of 1923, a controversy with Senator Anton J. Rockne regarding state relief for the unemployed, the 1932 gubernatorial election, and Olson's death.
MNHS call number: See the finding aids in the library (A/.O52 and Olson, Floyd B.).
Francis Monroe Smith Papers.
This archival collection (1936-1951) includes correspondence, clippings, pamphlets, minutes, constitutions, resolutions, and other papers relating to the political career of Smith, a St. Paul lawyer active in the Democratic, Democratic-Farmer-Labor, and Progressive parties in Minnesota. There is information on the merger in 1944 of the Democratic and Farmer-Labor parties; dissent within the new party, and between it and the national committee; organization and activities of the Progressive party in Minnesota; the Midwest Farmer-Labor Alliance; the Minnesota All-Party Citizens Committee organized (1951) by Smith as a medium for citizen action on public issues; and political conventions and campaigns.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P20).
Out Where the West Begins, by Walter Eli Quigley.
A reminiscent account (typed, 106 pp.) of Quigley's career as an organizer for the Nonpartisan League (1915-1919); his activities in the Minnesota Farmer-Labor Party; and work with such political leaders as Arthur C. Townley, Floyd B. Olson of Minnesota, and Lynn Frazier and William Lemke of North Dakota.
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid
Gale Family Library
Minnesota Historical Society Library
Located on the Second Floor of the Minnesota History Center
345 West Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55102
Library Hours:
Thursday to Saturday: 10am to 4pm
Sunday to Wednesday: Closed
More Information on Visiting the Library
Contact Us:
651-259-3300
