Honeywell, Inc., Annual Reports.
MNHS call number:
1931-1963: HD 9729 .H59 A3 1931-1963;
1964-1971: HD 9729 .H59 A312;
1972-1984: HD 9729 .H59 A313;
1985-1995: HD 9729 .H59 A313 1985-1995;
1996-present: HD 9729 .H59 A313 1996- .
Honeywell, Inc., Corporate Records.
The collection relates primarily to Honeywell's control systems business, especially to thermostats and related controls for home heating plants, and to autopilots and related aeronautical equipment and devices for airplanes. A smaller portion of the collection is concerned with the company's information systems (computer) business. The records were re-organized in 2002 into fifteen record series based upon type of material and/or corporate function and include alphabetically-ordered subject files; product catalogs and manuals; patent files; promotional and sales-related materials; product literature; and photographs of company buildings and facilities, executives, overseas offices and operations, and products. There are scrapbooks and portfolios featuring examples of Honeywell advertising, especially from the 1930s through the 1950s. The collection contains company-produced newsletters and journals, including four reels of microfilmed in-house newsletters (formerly cataloged separately). There are thirty-two reels of microfilmed engineering correspondence; audiotapes and videocassettes, motion pictures, and filmstrips; some financial and stockholder information; and material relating to Honeywell's overseas offices and operations. "Historical Files" consist largely of background information gathered in connection with Honeywell's observance of its centennial anniversary (1985), and also includes transcripts of oral history interviews conducted in 1973 in Wabash, Indiana. There are some photographs of and files relating to employees and employee activities, but there are no "personnel records," per se. There is information about Honeywell mergers and acquisitions, and a series of records of predecessor, subsidiary, and related companies.
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid
Council for Corporate Review Records.
This archival collection (1967-1976) contains background and working files of the Council for Corporate Review, which was organized in 1970 to "broaden effective public participation in the decision-making processes of Minnesota corporations." Major activities of the Council included attempts to stop the production by Honeywell, Inc., of anti-personnel fragmentation bombs used in the Vietnam War.
MNHS call number: See finding aid in the library (Council for Corporate Review).
Minnesota Spanish Speaking Affairs Council Records.
This archival collection (ca. 1970-1993) includes the Honeywell Hispanic Technical and Professional Education Project (1982-1983), which identified, recruited, trained, and placed Hispanic youth in technical and professional fields. It was initiated by Hispanic leaders and funded by a grant from Honeywell, Inc. The files include project staff minutes, correspondence, articles of incorporation, project profile, and newspaper articles.
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid
All Together Now, Happy Centennial, edited by Judy Haaversen.
Minneapolis, Minn.: Honeywell, Inc., 1985.
Honeywell world centennial issue, which includes a history of the company.
MNHS call number: Folio HD 9729 .H59 A634 1985
Honeywell, the Early Years, by C.W. Nessell.
Minneapolis, Minn.: Minneapolis-Honeywell Regular Co., 1960.
MNHS call number: HD 9729 .H59 N47
Honeywell International History, by Edson W. Spencer.
Minnesota: Honeywell, 1993.
MNHS call number: HD 9729 .H59 S636 1993
Oral History Interview with Edson W. Spencer, 2009
Edson W. Spencer discusses his early life and education, his service in the U.S. Navy, his careers at Sears and Honeywell and the international aspects of both careers, his time as president and CEO at Honeywell, Honeywell Inc.’s ventures into the computer industry, and his work with the Ford and Mayo Clinic Foundations.
MNHS call number: Digital Copy
Oral History Interview with Irma M. Wyman, 1992.
Wyman discusses her childhood and the people and events that influenced her, including her college years and the barriers she faced as a female. She also goes into detail about her involvement in the fledgling computer world of the 1950s and her continuing struggle with being female in a male-dominated career field. She discusses her role at Honeywell and the changes that occurred within the company during her tenure.
MNHS call number: OH 38
Gale Family Library
Minnesota Historical Society Library
Located on the Second Floor of the Minnesota History Center
345 West Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55102
Library Hours:
Thursday to Saturday: 10am to 4pm
Sunday to Wednesday: Closed
More Information on Visiting the Library
Contact Us:
651-259-3300
