Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mall of America: Primary Sources: Archives & Records

Manuscripts

Pamphlets relating to shopping centers and shopping malls in Minnesota, 1959-
The MNHS Pamphlet Collection contains pamphlets and printed ephemera relating to advertisements, catalogs, mall design, studies and miscellaneous materials issued by or about Minnesota shopping centers and shopping malls. Items are filed alphabetically by name of the center.
MNHS call number: Pamphlet Collection HF5430

Government Records

Minnesota Department of Trade and Economic Development, Records of Commissioner Mark Dayton, 1983-1986.
The Project Files include proposals by the Triple Five Corporation for the Mall of America in Bloomington. Many of these files complement those from Governor Perpich's office.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (Trade and Economic Development Department).
 
Fred Norton: An Inventory of His Papers at the Minnesota Historical Society, 1965-1987.
Legislative files, political campaign files, and speeches documenting Fred Norton's service as a DFL representative in the Minnesota legislature from St. Paul districts 46A (1967-1972) and 65A (1973-1987), as speaker of the House (1980 and 1987), and as minority leader (1985-1986). Includes legislative files documenting the areas in which Norton had special interest or expertise, including issues of financing the Mall of America in 1985.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid 
 
Minnesota Office of the Governor (Perpich) Briefing Books and Reports, 1978-1990.
The collection includes a leather-bound presentation packet from the Triple Five Corporation for its proposed "Mall of America" in Bloomington.
MNHS call number: See finding aid in the library (Governor, Perpich, Rudy). 
 
Terry Dempsey Papers, 1978-1992.
Legislative papers of a Minnesota state representative (Independent-Republican, District 23A) who was elected in 1978 and resigned in 1992 to accept a judicial appointment. Includes legislative files documenting the areas in which Dempsey had special interest or expertise, including issues of financing the Mall of America in 1985.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid 
 
Governor: Ventura, Jesse: Communications Office Records, 1999-2003.
Mainly materials collected by the office to document the Governor and Lieutenant Governor's public personas, through articles written about them; interviews and speeches given by them; and appearances at promotional and ceremonial events. Items featuring the First Lady, Terry Ventura, the Governor's Chief of Staff, Steven Bosacker, and assorted other staff members are also present. The collection includes photographs of the Governor at the Mall of America in 1999 and 2000, a videocassette of his 2000 appearance on Hardball: Mall of America (filmed onsite), and four soundcassetttes of the Governor's Friday lunchtime call-in radio show recorded onsite in 2001.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid 

Books & Other Publications

Mall of America
Bloomington, Minnesota : Mall of America, Public Relations, [2006]
MNHS call number: HF5430.5.B5 M34 2006

"Mall of America: The Biggest Mall of them All"
In Construction Bulletin, vol. 239, no. 10 (Sept. 4, 1992) : pp. 10, 14-15, 18-22.
The article gives an update on the Mall of America construction project and inludes black and white photographs of interior and exterior Mall construction.
MNHS call number: TA1 .I3 v.239:10
 
"Mall of America Region's Largest Construction Project"
In Construction Bulletin, vol. 233, no. 9 (March 1, 1991) : pp. 4-9.
The article gives an overview on the construction progress of the Mall of America and includes black and white photographs of the project.
MNHS call number: TA1 .I3 v.233:9
 
Mall of America
Indianapolis, Ind., U.S.A. : M. Simon & Associates, 1990.
A booklet promoting the development of the Mall of America. Includes color photographs and a detailed description of a possible "Day In the Life" at the Mall of America.
MNHS call number: FOLIO HF5430.5.B5 M335 1990

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Currently open by appointment only.