Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MNHS Library Custom Header

Oliver Kelley Farm: The Grange & Early Farming in Minnesota: Primary Sources: Archives, Records

Manuscripts

Oliver Hudson Kelley Papers, 1863-1966
Collection of papers relating to Oliver Hudson Kelley and the Grange. Includes correspondence from 1863-1866 regarding a find of a prehistoric settlement near the mouth of the Crow River, and several articles published by Oliver Hudson Kelley.  
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P657).

Oliver H. Kelley Biographical Memorabilia, 1851-1912
Appointments and certificates of Kelley, Elk River, Minnesota farmer and one of the founders of the National Grange, including his appointment as aide-de-camp to the Commander in Chief of the Minnesota Territorial Militia, signed by Alexander Ramsey (April 18, 1851), Benton County notary public commission (April 25, 1851), and notification of election as Wright county justice of the peace (September 16, 1856). The latter also contains Kelley’s oath to uphold the constitution (September 20, 1856) and filing notations of the Wright County Register of Deeds (September 25, 1856) and Clerk of Court (September 9, 1857).
MNHS call number:   See the finding aid in the library (+939, Kelley, Oliver H).

Minnesota State Grange Records, 1868-1994 (bulk 1910-1966)
Correspondence, subject files, and some financial records of a fraternal society of farmers and others interested in agriculture. Includes some records of pomona (county or district) and subordinate (local) grange lodges.  Includes pamphlets, circular letters, constitutions, bylaws, minutes, rosters, some clippings, a charter certificate, quarterly reports submitted by secretaries of subordinate granges (1909-ca.1933), and a grange song book (1964). There is information about juvenile grange lodges; the National Grange organization; and National Grange co-founder Oliver Hudson Kelley and the historic Kelley Farmstead near Elk River (Minn.). Correspondents include officials of the Minnesota State Grange, the National Grange, and of various subordinate granges.
MNHS call number:  Digital finding aid

North Star Grange, Minutes of meetings, 1868-1883
Minutes of meetings held by the first Minnesota society of the Patrons of Husbandry, organized by Oliver H. Kelley. Included is information on choosing officers and other routine business, on agricultural problems, on the admittance of women into the society, and on social activities. Original minute book, and typed copy.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P2579).

Minnehaha Grange No. 398 (Edina, Minn.), Grange Records, 1873-1985
There is information about the National Grange (Washington, D.C.) and co-founder Oliver H. Kelley, the activities of the national and Minnesota grange organizations, Oliver Hudson Kelley Pomona Grange No. 4 (a district organization), and the history and preservation of both the Kelley farmstead near Elk River (Minn.) and the Minnehaha Grange Hall in Edina.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Minnesota Historical Society Institutional Archives, 1849-
The archives of the Minnesota Historical Society contains historically valuable records from all of its administrative and program units. They reflect and document the history of the organization from its 1849 beginning as the first private corporation chartered by the territorial legislature.  Several boxes in this large collection contain information about the Kelley Farm, focusing on plans for restoration, infrastructure, and exhibits.  
Note:  boxes are stored offsite and must be requested in advance.
MNHS call number:  Digital finding aid

Government Records

Agricultural Association Reports, 1911-[ongoing]
Annual reports of membership, finances, and meetings held, required of agricultural associations to entitle their delegates to vote at annual meetings of the State Agricultural Society.  Associations reporting include those for livestock breeders and marketers, horticulture, apiarists, forestry, veterinary medicine, county fairs, and general farm services as well as the Minnesota State Grange. 
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library  (Minnesota, Secretary of State, Agricultural Association Reports).

Books & Other Publications

Origin and Progress of the Order of the Patrons of Husbandry in the United States:  A History from 1866 to 1873, by Oliver H. Kelley.
Philadelphia:  J.A. Wagenseller, 1875.
MNHS call number:  HD1485.P5 K4

Proceedings of the [6th and 7th] ... Session of the National Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry.
Washington, D.C.:  Gibson Brothers, Printers, -1874.
MNHS call number:  HD1485.P2 A2

Proceedings of the [8th] ... Annual Session of the National Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry.
Claremont, N.H.:  Claremont Manufacturing Co., 1875
MNHS call number:  HD1485.P2 A2 1875

Journal of Proceedings of the [10th-31st]... Session of the National Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry.
Louisville:  John P. Morton & Co., 1876-1897.
MNHS call number:  HD1485.P2 A2 1876-, 1897

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours