LibGuides: Public Education Funding Reform: The "Minnesota Miracle of 1971": Primary Sources: Archives & Records

Manuscripts

Minnesota Historical Society. : Minnesota Miracle Discussion records, 1967-1971, 2006-2007.

Records documenting and related to a roundtable discussion of the issues relevant to the Minnesota Miracle that was sponsored by the Minnesota Historical Society in 2007 and took place at the History Center in St. Paul, Minnesota. Included is the project proposal, DVDs produced by Lightshed Productions of the discussion (2007), a transcript of the discussion (2007), and one of the briefing books (1967-1971, 2006) that was prepared for the participants. Participants in the roundtable were Wendell R. Anderson, John Earl Haynes, Martin Olav Sabo, Eileen Baumgartner, Wayne Popham, Paul Gilje, Art Roemer, and moderator Steve Dornfeld.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P2682).

Citizens League Records.

This collection contains records of a nonpartisan, citizens, public affairs research, and educational organization based in the Twin Cities metropolitan area. The group is organized into committees that research current affairs issues affecting various aspects of community life. The collection contains research reports and subject files in several fields, including education.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Government Records

Minnesota Governor (1971-1976: Anderson), Numerical Files.
The most likely series to find material on this topic would be the Numerical Files; "Education" is file number 37 in each year (1971-1976).
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Minnesota State Board of Education Minutes and Agenda Packets (1919-1991).
Master set of minutes for May 1919 through 1960; and agenda packets, which include minutes, as well as memos, reports, and other documents acted upon at each meeting, for 1950-1979 and 1981-1991. The most useful years for this topic are 1971-1975.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Books & Other Publications

Key Players Discuss the 1971 Debate that Produced a Major Overhaul of the State's Property-Tax and School-Finance System.

MNHS call number: Reading Room F601.5 .M66 v.60

Remaking the Minnesota Miracle: Facing New Fiscal Realities: Report Summary.

Minneapolis, Minn.: Citizens League, [1990].
MNHS call number: HJ 515 .R46 1990

What Students? What Programs? What Facilities?: An Agenda for Re-building St. Paul Schools in a Time of Educational Change, prepared by St. Paul School Buildings Committee, John W. Greenman, chairman.

Minneapolis : Citizens League, 1971.

MNHS call number: LA312.S2 C27

Resolving Teacher-School Board Disputes: A Proposal for an Improved Process of Collective Bargaining in Education, prepared by Citizens League Committee on Employer-Employee Bargaining in Education; Roger L. Hale, chairman.

Minneapolis : Citizens League, 1971.

MNHS call number: HD7815.T4 C57

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

Primary vs. Secondary Sources
A short video describing the differences between primary and secondary sources with examples from MNHS collections.
Library Catalog
Search for books, pamphlets, maps, A/V materials, and archival and manuscript collections in our Library Catalog.
Finding Aids
Search the full text of digital finding aids for State Archives and manuscript collections at MNHS.
Collections Online
Search for 3/D objects, photographs, art, maps, and more from the MNHS Collections.
Newspapers
Search historic newspapers for advertisements and articles about people, events, and activities.
Search MNHS Box
Search MNHS websites, as well as Collections Online, Finding Aids and other resources. This search does not search in the library catalog.