LibGuides: Searching MNHS Finding Aids: Overview

Using the Catalog to Search

Search by title, subject, etc. in our Library and Archives catalog.

Links to online finding aids are located in the detailed descriptions and look like this:
If there is no link to an online finding aid in the catalog description, contact Library staff and we can send you a scan of the paper copy that is stored onsite.
Note: During the finding aids maintenance in June 2025, the online finding aids may be unavailable. Please contact Library staff with the collection’s creator and title information from the catalog record, and we can send you a scan of the paper finding aid.

Browse Finding Aids by Creator Name

Use these links to browse online finding aids by title or creator name. Please note that not all finding aids have online versions

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I-K | L | M | N | O-Q | R | S | T | U-V | W-Z | Whats New

Note: During the finding aids maintenance in June 2025, the online finding aids may be unavailable. Please contact Library staff with the collection’s Name and File No. information from the A to Z listing, and we can send you a scan of the paper finding aid.

Need Help?

Contact the Library by phone (651-259-3300) or email.

What is a Finding Aid?

A finding aid is an inventory that lists the contents of an archival collection. Archival collections typically contain unpublished, primary source materials that were all created by the same person, family, agency, or organization. Our collections include state and local government records, manuscripts, personal and family papers, business and organizational records, photographs, sound recordings, moving images, oral histories, sheet music, telephone directories, and newspaper collections.

A finding aid includes an overview explaining what each collection is, who created it, when, and what materials or topics are included. A more detailed description lists the contents of the collection. A finding aid will not list every item, but it will give enough detail to help you discover parts you can explore further by visiting the Library.