LibGuides: Capital Punishment: More

Online Resources

Bureau of Justice Statistics, United States Department of Justice.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) collects data on persons held under sentence of death and persons executed during the calendar year from the state department of corrections and the Federal Bureau of Prisons. This website summarizes the movement of prisoners into and out of death sentence status and includes information on executions, trends, and time between imposition of death sentence and execution.

Collections Outside of MNHS

National Death Penalty Archive, M.E. Grenander Department of Special Collections and Archives at University at Albany, State University of New York.
This collection is part of a partnership between the University at Albany Libraries and the Capital Punishment Research Initiative (CPRI) at the University's School of Criminal Justice. The collection contains materials documenting the important history of capital punishment, and provides resources for historical scholarship, including the papers of many notable opponents of the death penalty, scholars on the subject, and records of death row prisoners and their advocates.

Search Elsewhere

WorldCat
Searches the collections of thousands of libraries all over the world.
Electronic Library of MN
MN residents can search online magazine, journal, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles and eBooks.
Minnesota Reflections
A searchable collection of images, maps and digitized documents from more than 150 of Minnesota's cultural heritage organizations.
MNCAT
Search the collections of the University of Minnesota Libraries.