Skip to main content
MNHS Library Custom Header

Jewish-Americans in Minnesota: Primary Sources: Archives & Records

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

Manuscripts

Fanny Fligelman Brin (Mrs. Arthur), 1925

Fanny F. Brin Papers.
This collection (1896-1958) contains records of a Minneapolis woman who was involved in social and political movements of the 1920s and 1930s, especially the National Council of Jewish Women, and Jewish welfare and refugee groups in which her husband Arthur was also a leader. There is considerable material on Jewish refugee programs, Palestine, Zionism, and anti-Semitism.
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid

Jewish Community Relations Council of Minnesota Records.
This collection (1922-1974, bulk from 1945-1970) consists of clippings, reports, publications, and correspondence relating to the investigative activities of this organization created in the 1930s to publicly protest anti-Semitic activity in Minnesota and the United States. Largely organized as subject files (1922-1967), they document organizations, individuals, and publications expressing conservative political, religious, and racial views, as well as a few representing communist organizations. There are also background and reference files on Judaism, Jewish history and culture, and the American Jewish experience, and correspondence, clippings, and other papers relating to Samuel Scheiner's work as the Council's executive director.
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid

Miscellaneous Manuscripts Relating to Jews in Minnesota, 1900-1943.
Photocopies of typed excerpts from a United States Supreme Court case, Petit v. Minnesota (177 U.S. Reports, p. 164, April 9, 1900) and from a Supreme Court of Minnesota case, State v. Weiss (105 N.W., January 19, 1906), both relating to the observance of Sunday as the day for prohibition of labor, rather than Saturday, as practiced by those of Jewish faith; a list of the names of persons of Jewish faith employed in the Minneapolis public schools (1922), an essay (ca. 1938, 5 pages) entitled "Duluth History" by Harry W. Davis that gives a brief history of the Jewish community of Duluth, and a manuscript (January 1943, 3 pages) by Mrs. H. Y. (Etta Cook) Josephs that gives a history of the Isaac Cook family, which settled in Duluth in 1887.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P177).

Mount Zion Hebrew Congregation, Congregational Records.
This collection (1853-1958) contains historical data on this St. Paul congregation, including its constitution and bylaws, correspondence and related papers providing information on its routine business and activities, membership and dues, Mount Zion Cemetery affairs, various Jewish religious and social organizations with which the congregation had contact, the new temple constructed at Holly and Avon streets (1900-1910), activity of Jews in World War I, anti-Semitism in Germany and the U.S. in the 1930s, Jewish refugees in the 1930s and 1940s, the military service of congregation members during World War II, and the new temple at Summit and Hamline avenues (1950-1955).
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P758).

Gene H. Rosenblum Papers.
This collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, a scrapbook, minutes, legal briefs, and legislative files of Gene Harold Rosenblum, a St. Paul attorney, documenting his involvement in numerous local and national political, civic, and religious organizations. The bulk of the files concern the St. Paul Jewish Council and its later incarnations, the Minnesota Jewish Council, the Jewish Community Relations Council of Minnesota, and the Jewish Community Relations Council-Anti-Defamation League of Minnesota and the Dakotas (1953-1977).
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid

Film & Video

"We Knew Who We Were: Memories of the Minneapolis Jewish North Side,"executive producers, Reva Margolis Rosenbloom and Linda Mack Schloff, producers, Thomas F. Lieberman and Freddie Weisberg, director, Thomas F. Lieberman.
St. Paul, Minn.: Jewish Historical Society of the Upper Midwest, 2000.
This video recording shows recollections of several generations of North Siders. You will hear how they gained economic security, established an American Jewish way of life in an often-hostile environment, and created the foundation for a better life.
70-minute color videocassette
MNHS call number: Videotape no. 869

"Questions of Racism," Robert Byrd, producer.
St. Paul, Minn.: Twin Cities Public Television, 1991?.
This videotape recording includes a clash between Jewish and Black student groups over anti-Semitic speakers invited to speak at the University of Minnesota.
35-minute color videocassette.
MNHS call number: Videotape no. 222

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

Contact Us:


651-259-3300


Email Us

 
Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours