Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Minneapolis Aquatennial: Primary Sources: Archives & Records

Primary Sources

Minneapolis Aquatennial Association (Minneapolis, Minn.): An Inventory of Its Records at the Minnesota Historical Society
This collection contains the records of a voluntary association that planned and staged the Minneapolis Aquatennial, an annual outdoor summer festival established in 1940 featuring athletic, cultural, and community events. Spanning the years 1940-1990, most of the material was compiled by association president (1979-1981) Fredrick Dresser, and includes historical information; articles of incorporation and bylaws; membership rosters; position descriptions and organization charts; directors and steering committee minutes; financial records; speeches, scripts, and publicity memoranda; newsletters and programs; photographs; and two scrapbooks kept by Micky Lane.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid
 
 
Pamphlets Relating to the Minneapolis Aquatennial Held in Minnesota, 1941-
The Minnesota Historical Society Pamphlet Collection contains pamphlets and printed ephemera relating to parades, events, themes, financial reports and other miscellaneous items about the Aquatennial (one folder).
MNHS call number: F613.M93 M5
 
Minneapolis Aquatennial Souvenir Program Collection, 1940-
Includes the following years: 1940, 1945, 1948, 1949, 1950-1954, 1957, 1958, 1962-1963, 1964 (Silver Anniversary Pictorial),1966, 1967, 1975, 1980, 1986, 1989 (Golden anniversary highlights.)
MNHS call number: F613.M93 M52
 
Aqua Follies: The Minneapolis Aquatennial Presents the Aqua Follies
Minneapolis, Minn. : Aqua Follies, 1946-
A collection of Aqua Follies souvenir programs from 1946, 1948, and 1951. Each program contains an overview of the performance, photos, and brief biographies of the performers.
MNHS call number: SERIAL 1514
Making Waves
Minneapolis, MN: Minneapolis Aquatennial, 1994
A bound collection of the yearly newsletter published by the Minneapolis Aquatennial Association, covering the years 1994-2000. The newsletters feature Aquatennial sponsors, royalty, festival schedules, and general festival news and highlights. The newsletters also include a small number of photographs of Aquatennial royalty, events, and logos.
MNHS call number: F613.M93 M55
 
Minneapolis Aquatennial Association:  Annual report / Minneapolis Aquatennial Association. 
Minneapolis, MN : The Association, 1958; 1963; 1969.
A collection of the Minneapolis Aquatennial Association Annual Reports from 1958, 1963, and 1969. The reports highlight festival events, photos, donors, budgets, and a graphic of the Minneapolis Aquatennial Association Organization Chart.
MNHS call number: SERIAL 40
 
Aquatennial parade, motion picture
Minneapolis, Minnesota: 1960. 15 min., color. 
MNHS call number: Film E-50
 
Aquatennial parade, motion picture
Minneapolis, Minnesota: 1958? 4 min., black and white. 
MNHS call number: Film C-53
 
1945 Victory Aquatennial, motion picture
Produced by the citizens of Minneapolis ; presented by Minneapolis Aquatennial Association ; photographed by A.A. Schwartz, B.A. Skomars. Minneapolis, Minn.? : s.n., 1945. 28 min., color. 
MNHS call number: Film A-133
 
Wartime Aquatennial, motion picture
Minneapolis, Minn.? : Minneapolis Aquatennial Association, 1943. 28 min., color. 
MNHS call number: Film A-114
 
Aquatennial 1940, motion picture
By Wayburn Johnston,1940. 9 min., color. 
MNHS call number: Film G-22

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Currently open by appointment only.