LibGuides: House & Building History Research: People

Published Sources for Finding People

City directories include an alphabetical index to individuals, businesses, and organizations. For individuals there is often information about their employment or business. There is also a classified section with business types. Starting around 1930 directories include a reverse-directory section organized by street and building number that indicates the primary occupants of that structure.
Other directories, including Who's Who publications, professional directories, and phone books. The Dual City Blue Book--a social register for Minneapolis and Saint Paul published between 1885 and 1927--includes an index by address for those who were listed.
Newspapers may feature articles and obituaries for individuals
Books, including biographies, company histories, organizational histories, and county and local histories may have information about prominent individuals.
Periodicals such as the Architect, Builder and Decorator (and its predecessor and successor publications) include information on buildings under construction, architects, and contractors.

More information on directories can be found in our Directories Research Guide.

Primary Sources for Finding People

Manuscript and government records collections may contain valuable information about people.

Search the library catalog to locate collections about a specific individual or family.
If you know a person worked for a particular company, you can see if there are personnel or employee records for that company.
Collections for specific organizations, such as Sons of the American Revolution, veterans organizations, community and professional organizations may include biographical information on their members.
Census records contain the names of all people living in the household, including extended family, servants, and boarders.

People Links

Library Catalog
Search for books, pamphlets, maps, A/V materials, and archival and manuscript collections in our Library Catalog.
Search MNHS Box
Search MNHS websites, as well as Collections Online, Finding Aids and other resources. This search does not search in the library catalog.
Minnesota People Records Search
Search in birth and death records, State Census, Veterans Grave registrations, and Gold Star Rolls, as well as comments left by other users about these records.
Birth Certificates in Minnesota People Records Search
Search Minnesota birth records from the years 1900-1934, supplemented by about 2700 pre-1900 records.
Death Certificates in Minnesota People Records Search
Search Minnesota death certificates from 1908 to 2001, supplemented by death cards from 1904 to 1907.
State Census in Minnesota People Records Search
Search the index of Minnesota State and Territorial Census records from 1849, 1850, 1853, 1855, 1857, 1865, 1875, 1885, 1895 and 1905.
Veterans Grave Registrations in Minnesota People Records Search
Search the index to the Minnesota Veterans Graves Registration reports from 1857 to 1975, the bulk of which are from 1927-1969.
Finding Aids
Search the full text of digital finding aids for State Archives and manuscript collections at MNHS.
Collections Online
Search for 3/D objects, photographs, art, maps, and more from the MNHS Collections.
Newspapers
Search historic newspapers for advertisements and articles about people, events, and activities.
Minnesota History Magazine
Use the index to find articles on a particular subject or use the search box to find any term that appears in online versions of articles.