LibGuides: Charles M. Schulz: Cartoonist & Creator of "Peanuts": Primary Sources: Archives & Records

Manuscripts

Charlie Brown Autobiography Files
Includes manuscript paste-ups for Me and Charlie Brown, an autobiography of Charlie Brown that chronicles his family, childhood, coming of age, religious quest, and his acquaintance with Charles M. Schulz and its subsequent effect on his life. Also includes letters from Schulz to Charlie Brown and his editor, Virgil Burns, and a large photograph of Schulz giving a drawing of the character Charlie Brown to the real Charlie Brown.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Correspondence with Walt Kelly, 1954
Two personal autograph letters (October 20, 1954 and November 15, 1954) written by cartoonist Charles M. Schulz to fellow cartoonist Walt Kelly, creator of the Pogo comic strip, and a response from Kelly (November 2, 1954), discussing Kelly's Pogo books.
MNHS call number: electronic version of the letters (PDF).

Books & Articles

Charlie Brown, Snoopy and Me, and All the Other Peanuts Characters, by Charles M. Schulz with R. Smith Kiliper.
Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, c1980.
MNHS call number: NC1429.S43 Ac 1980

Peanuts: A Golden Celebration: The Art and the Story of the World's Best-Loved Comic Strip, by Charles M. Schulz, edited and designed by David Larkin.
New York: Harper Collins, c1999.
MNHS call number: Reading Room FOLIO NC1429.S43 P384 1999

Peanuts: The Art of Charles M. Schulz, by Charles Schulz, edited and designed by Chip Kidd.
New York: Pantheon Books, 2001.
MNHS call number: NC1429.S43 P39 2001

"'Peanuts' - How It All Began," by Charles M. Schulz.
In Liberty - Then & Now, vol. 1, no. 11 (winter 1973).
MNHS call number: NC1429.S43 A3 1973

It's Only a Game, by Charles M. Schulz and Jim Sasseville.
Thousand Oaks, Calif.: About Comics, c2004.
MNHS call number: NC1429.S43 I776 2004

For books of Peanuts cartoons, search the library catalog for Author: Charles Schulz.

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

Primary vs. Secondary Sources
A short video describing the differences between primary and secondary sources with examples from MNHS collections.
Library Catalog
Search for books, pamphlets, maps, A/V materials, and archival and manuscript collections in our Library Catalog.
Finding Aids
Search the full text of digital finding aids for State Archives and manuscript collections at MNHS.
Collections Online
Search for 3/D objects, photographs, art, maps, and more from the MNHS Collections.
Newspapers
Search historic newspapers for advertisements and articles about people, events, and activities.
Search MNHS Box
Search MNHS websites, as well as Collections Online, Finding Aids and other resources. This search does not search in the library catalog.