Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MNHS Library Custom Header

St. Croix River Valley: Primary Sources: Archives & Records

Manuscripts

George Nelson Reminiscences
Reminiscences of Nelson, an employee of Parker, Gerrard & Company and the North West Company. From 1802 to 1832 he worked for them in the regions of Grand Portage, the St. Croix River, Lower Red River, Winnipeg, and Fort William. Also contains a published description of the Nelson papers in the Metropolitan Toronto Library, with some biographical details.
MNHS call number: Digital versions (PDF) of Part 1Part 2, and Part 3.

W. H. C. Folsom and Family Papers, 1817-1900.
Correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, clippings, financial papers, and miscellany concerning William Henry Carman Folsom, a Taylors Falls businessman, historian, and Minnesota legislator; the family of his wife, Mary Jane Wyman Folsom; their sons, Wyman X. and Frank W.; and other family members.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Albert C. Stuntz Diary, 1858, 1863-1865, 1867-1869, 1882.
Diaries kept by this surveyor in the Lake Superior area of northwestern Wisconsin, in the St. Croix River Valley, and in Wisconsin lumber camps. Included is information about land surveys and acquisition in Wisconsin and Minnesota; about lumbering practices; and accounts of trips from Bayfield, Wisconsin to St. Paul, Minnesota. Includes entries when Stuntz was a Wisconsin state assemblyman.
MNHS call number: Microfilm M611

F. Weyerhaeuser and Company Records, 1892-1940. 
Correspondence; agreements, contracts, and other land and legal papers; annual statements; log accounts; tax records; articles of incorporation; and other papers of Weyerhaeuser and Company and associated lumbering and lumber products companies.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

Interviews with Pioneer Lumbermen, compiled by Forest History Society.
Transcripts of interviews between pioneer lumbermen and relatives of lumbermen of the Upper Midwest and members of the Forest History Society staff.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

St. Croix River Association Records, 1917-1988.
Records consist of correspondence, minutes, reports, newspaper clippings, copies of press releases, and other miscellaneous papers documenting the organization, which was concerned with conservation of the St. Croix River area.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid

William T. Boutwell Papers. 
A copy of a diary kept on Henry R. Schoolcraft’s expedition to the source of the Mississippi River in 1832 and throughout Boutwell’s residence as missionary to the Ojibwe at Leech Lake; rough notes made by J. Fletcher Williams at the time of an interview with Boutwell and reminiscent of the latter’s life as a missionary; two autobiographical articles by Boutwell; a letter received from his father-in-law, Ramsay Crooks, in 1836; and photostats of two letters written by Boutwell in 1832, the originals of which are in the possession of La Forest C. Parkhurst of Stillwater.
MNHS call number: See finding aid in the library (P2528).

James Taylor Dunn and Family Papers. 
Personal and family papers created and collected by librarian and local historian James Taylor Dunn, his family, and others. Dunn's papers document his lifelong interest in the St. Croix River and valley, as well as several other areas of historical research.
MNHS call numberDigital Finding Aid

Books & Other Publications

Choice Farming Land in the St. Croix Valley, Polk County, Wisconsin: for Sale to Settlers, by Caleb Cushing.
1875 booklet advertising land for sale in the St. Croix Valley. Booklet includes information about populations, soil type, agriculture, etc. Also includes two maps of the area. 
MNHS call number: F587.P7 G4 1875

Film & Video

John Runk Film Collection.
The bulk of the collection includes film footage shot in and around Stillwater, Minn. and the St. Croix River. Views include the 1952 flood, boating, fishing, Washington County fair, Lowell Park and Engine #328 in Stillwater, the construction of Hooley’s Supermarket, the razing of the Union Depot in Stillwater and construction work at the Stillwater sewage treatment plant.
MNHS call number:  Digital Finding Aid

Search for Primary Sources at MNHS

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours