Skip to main content
MNHS Library Custom Header

Dakota Family History Research Guide: Images

Search MNHS Resources

Searching for Images

Search for images and artifacts at MNHS using our Collections Online system.  Then improve the results using the options in the system's left-hand column.   

You may want to try specific terms like a indvidual's name, a family name, or the name of a specific building or location.

You may also want to try more general terms, like; 

  • Dakota Indians--pictorial works
  • Indians of North America--portraits

Stars Come Out (Sioux)

Photograph Collections

William H. Illingworth stereograph collection
Views by photographer William H. Illingworth from glass plate negatives in the collections of the Minneapolis Public Library & Information Center, the Minnesota Historical Society and the South Dakota State Historical Society. Included are views of Minneapolis, St. Paul, various Minnesota cities, steamboats, Dakota people, Custer’s 1874 expedition, and South Dakota; dated 1860-ca.1880.
MNHS call number:  #I.35

Simmon Scrapbook
Illustrations and cuts from various publications from the late 1880s. Includes views of businesses, public buildings and residences in St. Paul, North St. Paul, Minneapolis, St. Cloud, and Little Falls in Minnesota and portraits of public officials, merchants, lawyers, military officers and Indians. Also views of towns in Washington, Wisconsin, the Dakotas, Michigan, Montana and Canada and scenic views of Yellowstone National Park. St. Paul, Minn. views include scenes from the 1886-1888 St. Paul Winter Carnivals.
MNHS call number: Photograph Album #200
 
Bishop Henry B. Whipple Indian photograph collection
The photograph collection was part of the Bishop Whipple collection of artifacts that is now at the Minnesota Historical Society. The collection was compiled by Whipple and added to after his death in 1901. The collection consists primarily of views of American Indians from the midwestern United States, many are identified portraits. Minnesota views include people and buildings at Morton and Birch Coulee and on the White Earth Indian Reservation. Many of the views document the Episcopal ministry at these locations, including many views of the Rev. Henry W. St. Clair and family. Also includes views of Henry B. Whipple, his home, and Shattuck and St. Mary’s Schools in Faribault Minnesota.
MNHS call number:  Digital Finding Aid

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

Contact Us:


651-259-3300


Email Us

 
Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours