LibGuides: Dakota Family History Research Guide: Learn More

Tools to Use

Dakota, Mixed-Blood, and White Biographical Files
Also known as the "Woolworth Notebook" This compilation of biographical information on Dakota people and Whites who married into Dakota families was compiled by Alan Woolworth as part of the larger Minnesota Biographies Project. Most entries include date and place of birth and death, a brief narrative of their life, and citations to newspaper articles or other sources like the Alan Woolworth Papers.
Family Tree Worksheet
Pedigree chart with spaces to record birth, death, and marriage dates and places for your ancestors.

Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940
Listing of background on how Indian Census rolls were created and how they are organized, created by National Archives.
Santee Cemeteries
Listings of the tribal cemeteries and people are who buried in each cemetery maintained by community members.

Digital Dakota Family History Research
Presentation delivered by Tamara St. John and Jennifer Kleinjung on Saturday, December 5, 2020. Provides an overview core digital collections for beginning Dakota Family History research, including census records and newspapers.

Native American Heritage: Researching an Individual or Family
Guide to researching Native American individuals and families within federal documents created by the National Archives
Indigeneous Genealogy at the Library & Archives of Canada
Background information on how to research Indigenous ancestry in records located at Library and Archives Canada. Several series of relevant records are described and step-by-step strategies for using the library's online collections search. References for complementary sources of information are also provided, along with suggested readings to provide additional historical or sociological context.
Guide to Tracing American Indian and Alaska Native Ancestry
Created by the U.S. Department of the Interior, guide provides a general overview of questions related to Native American genealogical research and tribal enrollment.
Tracing Native American Family Roots
Extensive list of resources for both beginner and advanced genealogists, including guides for specific record types, recommended reading, reflections on DNA testing, and more. Compiled by the National Indian Law Library.
Santee Sioux Genealogy Resources Facebook Page
Page run by group of researchers specializing in Santee Dakota Genealogy, specifically the Santee Sioux Tribe of Nebraska. People are encouraged to add content. Documents, photographs, and especially memories of Santee and her people are most appreciated.