This section of the research guide will focus on two of the identity groups which are most often referred to in disability studies: Intellectual/Developmental and Mental/Behavioral. The following section focuses on Sensory and Physical/Mobility.
It is acknowledged that there are additional disability identities not included in this guide. The identities were chosen for this guide as they are some of the most common among all ages across the United States and the amount and types of records found in the Minnesota Historical Society archival collection.
The section includes a representation of organizations for each identity described above while acknowledging that there are many others which are just as important in the disability community. This research guide is an evolving guide, to be added to and adapted as disability identities and organizations grow and change.
Finally, it is recognized that there will be outdated and offensive language within many of the historical records within our collection. Please refer to the Harmful Language Statement included at the beginning of this research guide for more detailed information.
Many of the terms used in these records are obsolete and may not have any basis in modern medical science. They are given as suggestions for searching because they may have been used in the titles or descriptions of organizations or institutions of the time period.
Library of Congress Subject Headings:
General Disability Advocacy:
Intellectual/Developmental Disability Advocacy:
Mental/Behavioral Disability Advocacy:
Minnesota State Council on Disability. Disability Council: An Inventory of Its Published Records and Reports, 1973 - 2002. Annual reports, legislative publications, newsletters, studies, proposals, brochures, planning documents, and various print and near-print materials documenting the activities of the council and its predecessors, the Minnesota Commission for the Handicapped (1973-1975) and Minnesota State Council for the Handicapped (1975-1987). Topics covered include disability legislation, educational services, housing, employment, accessibility, parking, independent living, and services for the disabled. Digital finding aid
Directory of funding resources for assistive technology in Minnesota / prepared by STAR Program, 2000. "The STAR Program is a program of the Minnesota Governor's Advisory Council on Technology for People with Disabilities ...". St. Paul, MN : STAR Program. MNHS call number: HV1555.M6 D57 2000
Placement Service for Handicapped People : a cumulative report of the progress and achievements of the Service, 1930/32-1930/39. Minneapolis : publisher not identified. MNHS call number: HD7256.U5M58 .P7
Resources for the handicapped : a survey of Hennepin County, May, 1952. Minneapolis? : Community Welfare Council, The Community Chest and Council of Hennepin County. MNHS call number: HV1555.M6 R47 1952
Courage Center annual report collection, 1974- . Includes the following titles: Courage services meet needs of more handicapped people : ... annual report. 1974 -- Courage services : ... annual report. 1975 -- Courage services, reflections of ... : annual report. 1976 -- Courage Center annual report (varies slightly). 1979-1980; 1982-1984; 1986 -- 1981, a year for reaching out -- Courage Center ... annual report summary. 1987 --. MNHS call number: FOLIO HV3023.M6 C68a
United Handicapped Federation: An Inventory of Its Records at the Minnesota Historical Society, 1973-1993. Organizational records documenting the history of a social action organization that represented the physically and mentally handicapped in the Twin Cities metropolitan area (Minn.). Records include correspondence, minutes, financial records, a constitution and by-laws, rosters, grant proposals, legal documents, reports, subject files, brochures, newspaper and magazine clippings, newsletters, and printed matter. Digital finding aid
Pamphlets relating to people with disabilities in general in Minnesota, 1964- . The Minnesota Historical Society Pamphlet Collection contains pamphlets and printed ephemera relating to programs and services for people with a range of physical and developmental disabilities, and to organizations that provide these services. MNHS call number: HV1551- HV1570
Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities: These affect a person's ability to learn, reason, and adapt socially. Examples include intellectual disability, autism spectrum disorder, and learning disabilities.
Governor's Council on Developmental Disabilities: An Inventory of Its Published Records and Reports, 1975-2021. Publications either created or collected by the Council pertaining to all aspects of its duties and responsibilities. Included are incomplete runs of the council's news letter, news briefs, and futurity; annual, quarterly, and program performance reports; annual work plans; monthly activity reports; three-year and five-year state plans; the council's May 1976 philosophy and mission statement; and a variety of related manuals, instructor's guides, guidelines, analysis, and reports. Digital finding aid
Minnesota developmental disabilities advocacy resource directory, 1981 / Minnesota State Planning Agency [and] the Governor's Planning Council on Developmental Disabilities / Minnesota State Planning Agency [and] the Governor's Planning Council on Developmental Disabilities. St. Paul, MN : Developmental Disabilities Planning Office, Minnesota State Planning Office, 1981. MNHS call number: HV3006.M6 M5
Jane Birks papers, circa 1960-1999. Papers of Jane Birks, a past President of the St. Paul Association for Retarded Citizens (affiliated with the Minnesota ARC) consisting of speeches (undated, circa 1960, 1964-1965, 1967, 1975, 1980), a small amount of correspondence and articles (1965-1966, 1972), and a paper (1999) titled Parents fight for children with developmental disabilities. The correspondence includes two signed letters from Governor Karl Rolvaag to Jane Birks on the topic of people with mental disabilities. MNHS call number: P205
ARC Minnesota: An Inventory of Its Records, 1953 - 1998. Annual reports, annual meeting materials, subject files, and audio-visual materials documenting the history of a statewide organization devoted to improving the lives of people with developmental disabilities. Digital finding aid
The next step : goals for institutions serving the retarded prepared by Minnesota Association for Retarded Children. Minneapolis, Minn. : The Association, 1969. MNHS call number: RC445.M62 M65 1969
Building a dream : Rise, Incorporated's first 25 years, 1971-1995 written by Beth DePoint. Spring Lake Park, Minn. : Rise, Inc., 1996. MNHS call number: HV1555.M6 R572 1996
Mental/Behavioral Disabilities: These involve difficulties with thinking, feeling, and behaving, such as mental illness or psychological distress. Examples include depression, anxiety, and schizophrenia.
Rochester State Hospital: Patient Advocate's Office, Records, 1973-1981. Advocacy procedures (undated), statistics (1979-1981), correspondence (1978-1980), and quarterly reports (1973-1981). MNHS call number: 114.B.9.12F
American Civil Liberties Union of Minnesota (St. Paul, Minn.): An Inventory of Its Records, 1940-2012 (bulk 1951-1996). Organizational files, historical files, subject files, news media files, files relating to relationships with other organizations, investigation files, fund raising events, lobbying files, and case files documenting the 1952 formation and subsequent activities of the Minnesota state affiliate of the American Civil Liberties Union. Digital finding aid
Ramsey County: St. Paul-Ramsey County Mental Health Board: An Inventory of Its Minutes and Agenda Packets, 1962-1976. Minutes and agenda packets of the full board (1962-1975) and committees on mental retardation (1970-1975) and board and care homes (1970-1973). Digital finding aid
Minnesota mental health survey, a citizens professional committee studies our mental health program; recommends immediate and long-range goals, 1956. Mental Health Medical Policy Committee. MNHS call number: RC445.M6 M4
Advocate / NAMI Minnesota, 2002- . St. Paul, Minn. : NAMI-Minnesota. MNHS call number: Periodicals Storage
A Guidebook for parents of children with emotional disorders, c1984. Minneapolis, Mn. : PACER Center, Inc. MNHS call number: RJ501.M6 G84 1984
Hartland to Capitol Hill : the journey of a wounded healer / Mary Gunderson ; co-written by Ernie Gunderson. St. Cloud, Minnesota : North Star Press of St. Cloud, Inc.. 2011. MNHS call number: F605.1.G95 A3 2011
Access Press, Ltd. is a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization dedicated to serving people with disabilities by publishing disability-related news and information. It is one of only twelve multi-disability-focused newspapers published in the United States. Access Press is funded through individual contributions, subscriptions and paid advertising along with grants from numerous businesses and organizations.
The first issue of Access Press was published in May 1990. From the time of that first edition, the paper was published continuously on the 10th of each month--until April, 2020, when the paper began publishing on the first day of each month (Source: accesspress.org)
Achieve Services - Mission: "Achieve Services creates innovative opportunities to inspire people with disabilities. We enable every participant to lead a meaningful and self-determined life."
Advocating Change Together - Vision: "ACT envisions a world where people with and without disabilities are valued for their contributions and have equitable access to leadership and power."
Avivo Artworks - Description: "Avivo Artworks is a program within Avivo’s Community Support Program (CSP), which supports artists living with mental illness as they create art, build community, and reduce stigma. ArtWorks programming is founded on the principles of arts access, recovery, and social justice."
Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute - Vision: "Our vision is to partner with all people to live, work and play to their full potential."
Critical Disability Studies Collective (CDSC) - U of M - History: "In 2015, University of Minnesota graduate students founded the Critical Disability Studies Collective (CDSC). The goal was to build a community through the study of social norms that shape our ideas about disability and ability."
Minnesota Association of Centers for Independent Living (MACIL) - Description: "The Minnesota Association of Centers for Independent Living (MACIL) is a non-profit organization whose purpose is to advocate for a statewide network of independent living services and supports for Minnesotans with disabilities throughout the State."
Minnesota Disability Law Center - Mission: "The Minnesota Disability Law Center (MDLC) of Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid is the federally designated Protection and Advocacy agency for people with disabilities in the state of Minnesota."
NAMI Minnesota - Mission: "Through education, support, and advocacy, NAMI Minnesota champions justice, dignity, and respect for all individuals and families affected by mental illnesses."
Pacer Center - Description: "PACER Center enhances the quality of life and expands opportunities for children, youth, and young adults with all disabilities and their families so each person can reach his or her highest potential. "
