LibGuides: Governors' Records: Newspapers

Newspapers

The Minnesota Historical Society holds the world's largest collection of Minnesota newspapers, with dates ranging from 1849 to the present day.

Past issues of most newspaper titles are available on microfilm in the MNHS library, but there is also digital access to select newspapers.

Use the links to the left to search for newspapers available at MNHS and to search within digitized newspaper collections.

Minnesota Newspaper Collection

The capitol is in St. Paul and is where the legislature meets. The Minneapolis and St. Paul newspapers, Pioneer Press, Tribune, etc., provide coverage of the governors' time in office, the political issues of the day, the legislature, etc., as well as the governors' political campaigns. Out of state, non-Metro area newspapers also cover campaigns, state issues, in particular, relevant to their community and extra focus on a candidate from the area.

The particular governor and time period being researched will determine if there is digital access, indexes, and microfilm of a particular newspaper.

Digital newspaper resources:

Minnesota Newspaper Digital Hub - a free searchable website that makes geographically and culturally diverse Minnesota newspapers available online. Primarily covers the time of 1856-1922.
Historic Minneapolis Tribune (available in-library only) is available for the years of 1867-1922 on the Newspaper Digital Hub.

On-site subscription access:
Some digitized newspapers are only available through paid, subscription databases. The following are available from computers in the MNHS Gale Family Library reading room.

Historic Minneapolis Tribune (1867-2001)
St. Paul Pioneer Press (2010 - present)
Minneapolis Star-Tribune (1986 - present)
ProQuest News & Newspapers - (Access to Pioneer Press (2010-present) and Star-Tribune (1986-present), as well as the New York Times (1980-present), Washington Post (1987-present), and other digitized national newspapers.
Newspapers.com

Print Indexes
Printed indexes of a variety of newspapers are available in the Hubbs Room of the MNHS Library.

For example:
Minneapolis Tribune and Star Index
1971-1988
MNHS call number: Microform Room AI21 .M53 1971-1980

Index to the Minneapolis Pioneer Press & Dispatch
1967-1996
MNHS call number: Microform Room AI21 .S3

Duluth Herald & News-Tribune Index
1978-1995
MNHS call number: Microform Room AI21 .D85

To locate newspapers that are not available digitally use the library catalog.

Search by city and title of newspaper (i.e. Granite Falls Tribune) or by the city and "newspapers" (i.e. Granite Falls newspapers)
Limit your search to newspapers only by selecting "newspaper microfilm" in the Collections facet or "newspapers" within the Genre facet
Once in the catalog record for a newspaper title, get detailed listings of the microfilm rolls within the Location field.