Photographs: Research & Ordering

Subjects: How-To Guides
Tags: arts, how-to, photos

Help

We can help in a variety of ways, including:

  • providing search advice
  • placing an order for you if you are having difficulty
  • navigating use permissions/licensing processes

Please contact us via phone (651-259-3300) or through email for these types of help.  

Regretfully we do not have the staff or resources to do in-depth photographic research for our patrons.  If you need on-site, in-depth photo research assistance, you may want to consider hiring an independent contract researcher.     

Collections Outside of MNHS

Minnesota Reflections
A project of the Minnesota Digital Library, this is a database of digitized original materials shared by cultural heritage organizations located across Minnesota. These materials include images, text, audio, film, and more, with new items added on a regular basis. 

Hennepin County Library's James K. Hosmer Special Collections
The Special Collections include a number photographs, and they are particularly strong in the areas of Minneapolis history and World War II.  In addition, they have digital access to some of the materials in their collections.  

Ramsey County Historical Society (RCHS)
RCHS has an extensive collection of historical photos and postcards related to St. Paul and the rest of Ramsey County.  They can be searched on the RCHS PastPerfect online database

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA is a collection of millions of cultural heritage objects--including photos--from libraries, archives, and museums across the country.  It can be searched or browsed by topic.  Clicking on each result opens up the image's description, if available, and a link to view the object on the DPLA website.

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Currently open by appointment only.