Charles and Ava Dale Johnson Papers
Papers relating to the refusal of a St. Paul couple to pay a portion of their federal income tax as a protest against war, contributing that portion instead to various non-violent defense organizations.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P2813).
Vietnam War Protest Collection
This archival collection (1969-1973) consists of flyers, leaflets, posters, petitions, newsletters, newspapers, and other printed matter centered on the protest movement against the Vietnam War (1969-1973) in the Twin Cities metropolitan area. Anti-war actions documented in the collection include local and national protest marches and demonstrations, student strikes, teach-ins, draft resistance, and fund raising benefits.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P1996).
Pamphlets Relating to the Vietnam War
The Minnesota Historical Society Pamphlet Collection contains pamphlets and printed ephemera relating primarily to Minnesota protests and draft resistance during the Vietnam War. A few items pertain to the creation of the Minnesota Vietnam Veterans Memorial.
MNHS call number: DS557-DS559
Alpha Smaby Research Files, 1953-1987
Research files containing materials on the Minnesota Vietnam War protests of the 1960s compiled in the 1970s by Alpha Sunde Smaby. These and other files were later used in the writing of Smaby’s book, Political upheaval: Minnesota and the Vietnam War protest. Materials include questionnaires, interview transcripts, newspaper clippings, printed materials, magazine articles, work calendars, and some correspondence. The first three folders are arranged by topic; the rest of the folders are arranged by individual. Other folders in the collection contain some correspondence arranged by date and printed materials of anti-war organizations in the 1960s. The collection also includes ninety-four cassette tapes of interviews conducted by Smaby with individuals active in anti-war protests.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (Smaby, Alpha).
Marianne Hamilton Papers
Personal papers of a founding member of the International Assembly of Christians in Solidarity with the Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Laotian People and a U.S. coordinator of the Assembly representing the Catholic Commission of Inquiry. The papers include personal correspondence, organizational memoranda, reports, press releases, newsletters, news clippings, and printed materials (some including prisoner testimony) regarding Southeast Asia, the Vietnam War, and Catholicism. Also included is a typewritten diary, which describes a ten-day trip to Hanoi in September 1972.
Note: Many items are in French, a few in Vietnamese.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (Hamilton, Marianne).
Minnesota Clergy and Laity Concerned, Vietnam War Opposition Papers
This archival collection contains correspondence, background research materials, topical files, reports, articles, and speeches relating to the organization's activities in opposition to the Vietnam War and the U.S. draft. There is also information on other peace groups, 1962-1976.
MHS call number: Digital finding aid
James M. Youngdale Papers.
This archival collection (1932-1981) includes materials documenting Youngdale's participation in a number of 1960s pro-peace groups protesting the Vietnam War. Youngdale was a farmer from Benson, a veteran of World War II, and later taught at the University of Minnesota.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (Youngdale, James M.)
Francis X. Kroncke Papers, 1971-1972
Newspaper clippings and near-print materials compiled by Kroncke, and a manuscript written by Kroncke, documenting the trials of the Minnesota Eight (Minnesota 8), who were convicted and imprisoned for trespassing and attempted sabotage after invading Selective Service Board offices in three Minnesota cities.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P1552).
Hubert H. Humphrey Vice-Presidential Files
Reports, memoranda, speeches, correspondence, notes, and other materials kept by William B. Welsh in his capacity as Administrative Assistant to Vice President Hubert H. Humphrey during the late 1960s. Major topics include Humphrey’s 1968 presidential campaign, the Vietnam War, and the response to the urban riots of the late 1960s. Also included are extensive files on Humphrey’s role in the effort to elminate the Senate’s filibuster rule.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid
Twin Cities Draft Information Center Records, 1965-1970
Articles and handbills written, collected, reprinted, and distributed by the Twin Cities Draft Information Center (TCDIC), an organization dedicated to draft resistance and conscientious objection to the Vietnam War. Also included are an anthology of writings from conscientious objectors already in prison published by CADRE, a Chicago anti-war group; handbills on the Beaver 55, the group claiming responsibility for the destruction of draft records in Ramsey and Hennepin County in the spring of 1970; materials relating to the student strike at the University of Minnesota in May 1970; materials from the Honeywell Project, an organization dedicated to changing the Honeywell Corporation’s production of war materials, especially fragmentation bombs, into more peaceful ends through public pressure and protest; Teachers Committee for Peace in Vietnam fliers; Minnesota New Democratic Coalition fliers; and other miscellaneous papers concerning the Vietnam War.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P1869).
Marv Davidov Papers, 1960-1981
U.S. Army service records (1953-1961); certificate and oral history (undated, 2010); correspondence and photographs (1960s, 1975); Dave Dellinger book research materials (1960s, 1991-1993); Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) release of FBI and CIA files (1969-1979); Honeywell Project files (1977-1980s); and newspaper articles (circa 1970s) related to Marv Davidov, a long-time Twin Cities peace activist and pacifist known for being the founder of the Honeywell Project, a peaceful protest group that targeted the Honeywell Corporation for their manufacture of cluster bombs during the Vietnam War.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid
Political Upheaval: Minnesota and the Vietnam War Protest, by Alpha Smaby.
Minneapolis, MN : Dillon Press, 1987.
MNHS call number: DS559.62.U6 S62 1987
Campus Activism: A Study of Saint Mary's College Public Opinion of the Vietnam War in the Late Sixties, 1966-1969, by Amy E. Moulton.
Historical research paper (St. Mary's College), 1993.
MNHS call number: DS 559.62.U6 M68 1993
Judging the Judges: Justice, Punishment, Resistance, and the Minnesota Court During the War in Vietnam, by Kenneth E. Tilsen.
St. Cloud, Minn.: North Star Press of St. Cloud, 2002.
MNHS call number: KF 221.P6 T55 2002
A Place Called Gustavus: The Protest Years, Selected Anecdotal Memoirs, by Frank Barth.
Minneapolis : Primarius Promotion, 2006.
MNHS call number: LD2091.G62 B37 2006
Twenty Years Toward Peace: The Honeywell Project History, 1968-1988, by text by Mordecai Specktor, photographs by Mark E. Jensen.
Minneapolis: The Project, 1988.
MNHS call number: FOLIO JX 1961.U6 T84 1988
Papers on the War, by Daniel Ellsberg.
New York: Simon and Schuster, 1972.
MNHS call number: E 183.8.v5 E4
Who Spoke Up?: American Protest Against the War in Vietnam, 1963-1975, by Nancy Zaroulis and Gerald Sullivan.
Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1984.
MNHS call number: DS 559.62.U6 Z37 1984
Another War that Divided Minnesota: Vietnam Politics in the 1960s, by Iric Nathanson.
In Hennepin History. Vol. 63, no. 4 (Fall 2004).
MNHS call number: Reading Room F612.H52 H42 v.63:4
A Poetry Reading Against the Vietnam War, by Robert Bly and David Ray.
Madison, Minn. American Writers Against the Vietnam War; distributed by the Sixties Press, 1966.
MNHS call number: DS557.A6 B55
Who is Hubert, What is He? ... That all the Liberals are Offended.
In Esquire. Vol. 66, no. 5 (Nov. 1966).
MNHS call number: FOLIO E748.H945 R5
Anti-War Cartoons, by James Erickson.
Minneapolis, 1967.
MNHS call number: DS557.A6 E7
Confrontation! Hawks vs. Doves, August 28, 1968
New York : Jubilee Records, 1968.
2 sound discs, 1 booklet (32 p.).
Democratic platform committee debate on Vietnam.
MNHS call number: 35-A
"The Cause is Peace?"
St. Paul, Minn.: KSTP-TV, 1972.
Videotape of news coverage of the antiwar demonstrations at the University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) following President Richard Nixon's order to mine North Vietnamese harbors, May 1972. Includes a rally appearance by Sen. Eugene McCarthy and a discussion of the events by KSTP-TV news staff.
MNHS call number: Videotape no. 183 (in the A-V Collection, 45-minute video).
Alpha Smaby
Minnetonka, Minn.: Hennepin County Library, c1990.
Alpha Smaby, author of Political Upheaval: Minnesota and the Vietnam War Protest, talks about why she wrote the book and about her activities during the anti-war movement, and shares some of the experiences of the people included in her book.
MNHS call number: Videotape 354 (30 minute video)
Hubert H. Humphrey Vice-Presidential Files, collected by William B. Welsh.
Reports, memoranda, speeches, correspondence, notes, and other materials kept by William B. Welsh in his capacity as Administrative Assistant to Vice President Hubert H. Humphrey during the late 1960s. Major topics include Humphrey's 1968 presidential campaign, the Vietnam War, and the response to the urban riots of the late 1960s.
MNHS call number: Digital finding aid
Eugene J. McCarthy Papers.
This collection contains McCarthy's files as U.S. Congress member from Minnesota's fourth district (1949-1958) and as U.S. senator from Minnesota (1959-1970). Foreign relations, especially the Vietnam War, are heavily emphasized in the Legislative Files series for 1966-1970.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid
People’s Referendum Newsletter
Minneapolis, Mn. : Honeywell Project, 1972-
MNHS call number: SERIAL 2133
The Little Free Press
Minneapolis, Minn. : L. Johnson.
MNHS call number: Microfilm 1093, and HX821 .L58
Changes
Minneapolis : Changes Magazine.
Apr. 5, 1970-Mar./Apr. 1973.
MNHS call number: Microfilm 1669
Strike Action
Minneapolis, Minn.: Strike media, 1970-
May 11, 1970
MNHS call number: Microfilm Minneapolis. STRIKE ACTION
Minnesota Peace Action Coalition Newsletter Collection, 1970-1971
MNHS call number: SERIAL 2613
Minnesota Vietnam News
Minneapolis, Minn. Minnesota Vietnam News.
v. 3, no. 1-11; May-Nov. 15, 1967.
MNHS call number: DS557.A6 M63
Minnesota Mobilizer
Minneapolis, Minn. Minnesota New Mobilization Committee.
v. 3, no. 12- ; Dec. 16, 1967-
MNHS call number: DS557.A6 .M64
Twin Cities Draft Information Center
Minneapolis, The Center.
Feb. 22, 1970.
MNHS call number: AP2 .C449
Oral History Interviews of the Vietnam Era Oral History Project
Ninety-five interviews document the experiences of Minnesotans during the Vietnam War era (1960-1975). Interviews take a life history approach, with a focus on the years of the United States war in Vietnam and Southeast Asia. Interviewees include Minnesota veterans who served during the Vietnam War; relatives of service members; Southeast Asian refugees and veterans who came to Minnesota after the war; and those involved in anti-war protests and related social movements in Minnesota.
MNHS Call Number: Digital Audio and Transcripts
Oral History Interviews of the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom in Minnesota Oral History Project
Interviews conducted in 1972 with 8 members of the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF). The women interviewed describe their backgrounds; discuss the Minnesota branch of the WILPF from its founding in 1922 by Maud C. Stockwell through the 1970s; and comment on the organization’s founding principles of peace, support for the United Nations, disarmament, opposition to the Korean and Vietnam Wars, advocacy of peace candidates, lobbying for legislation reflecting the human rights principles of the WILPF, a Federal Bureau of Investigation’s scrutiny of the WILPF in the 1940s, and the WILPF’s resolution criticizing Wisconsin Senator Joseph McCarthy in the 1950s.
MNHS call number: Digital Finding Aid
Night Flight to Hanoi; War Diary with 11 Poems, by Daniel Berrigan.
New York, Macmillan, 1968.
MNHS call number: DS558.H3 B4
Born Into War, by Connie Fortin as told by Trong Nguyen.
St. Cloud, MN, : North Star Press of St. Cloud, 2010.
MNHS call number: F605.1.N495 F67 2010
Out Now!: A Participant's Account of the American Movement Against the Vietnam War, by Fred Halstead.
New York: Monad Press, 1978.
MNHS call number: DS 559.62.U6 H35
Statement of Minnesota Veterans for Peace in Vietnam, 1969 October 15
Delivered by Russell F. Roth, questioning the feasibility of military victory in the Vietnamese conflict and urging an immediate end to the war.
MNHS call number: See the finding aid in the library (P807).
To a High School Senior, by Philip Solem.
Duluth, 1968.
MNHS call number: UB343 .S6
Gale Family Library
Minnesota Historical Society Library
Located on the Second Floor of the Minnesota History Center
345 West Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55102
Library Hours:
Thursday to Saturday: 10am to 4pm
Sunday to Wednesday: Closed
More Information on Visiting the Library
Contact Us:
651-259-3300
