MNHS Library Custom Header

School Records Research

How to find historic records from Minnesota public schools

How to Locate School Publications

Hopkins Eisenhower High School cross-country ski team, includes Toni St. Pierre, the first female student in the United States to sue to be on a boy's athletic team. 1973. Yearbooks

Search the library and archives catalog using the name of the town/school and the word "yearbooks" to find our holdings.  Interested in donating a Minnesota yearbook to our collections?  Contact Collections staff via this form.  

Examples: 

Mora High School Yearbook Collection, 1928-1965. 
MNHS call number: LD7515.M67 H54a

The Cehisean (Saint Paul Central High School)
MNHS call number: LD7501.S14 C5c

Cho-Kio (Moorhead High School)
MNHS call number: LD7515.M66 M642

 

Newspapers

Search the Library and Archives Catalog using the name of the school, limiting your search to "Newspapers" using the Genre filter.  School newspapers are generally on microfilm and found filed with other papers from their town.  

Examples: 

The Centralian (Central Junior High School; St. Cloud)

Hibbing Hi Times (Hibbing High School)

Saint Paul Public Schools Staff Reporter

 

Other Publications

Other school publications may include special creations such as school histories, literary journals, and other special projects.  They can usually be found by searching the name of the school in the library and archives catalog.  They also may be found within school district records or manuscript collections donated by former staff or alumni.  

Examples: 

The Hibbing High School, by Dan Bergan. 
Hibbing, MN: Manny's Shopper, Inc., 2001.  
MNHS call number: LD7513.H52 H55 2001

Golden Memories, 1959-2009, Wilson High School, by Wilson High School Reunion, Class of 1959, August 22, 2009.
MNHS call number: LD7516.W45 G64 2009

School Publications Links

MNHS Reference Staff

reading room bookshelves

Contact Us:


651-259-3300


Email Us

 
Visit our Main Website

Gale Family Library • Minnesota Historical Society • 345 W. Kellogg Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55102-1906 • 651-259-3300
Tuesday: 9am to 8pm • Wed. to Sat.: 9am to 4pm • Sunday & Monday: Closed • Holiday Hours